Review: Gladness for Mourning (Whispers of Grace #2) by June Caedmon

GladnessGladness for Mourning is the second book in the Whispers of Grace series. Having read Heart’s Desire, the first book in the series, I was really looking forward to reading this book. I have to say that I really enjoyed the first book. It was very good and the characters were so interesting. Well, in Gladness for Mourning, we follow those same characters as they now are embroiled in the war between the states.

I love what the author did with this story. She crafted such compelling stories for each of the characters. Sam and Victoria are separated due to war, as are John and Melinda. The catch is that the two brothers are fighting on different sides. That is one aspect of the story. Another story line that is followed is the story of Luann Cantrell and Dutch. Will Luann ever be able to forgive him? There are other interesting characters that join the mix, as well. The theme of forgiveness runs heavily through this story. We find Victoria in need of Sam’s forgiveness later in the book, as well.

Overall, the theme of God’s forgiveness through Christ stands as an example throughout this story. Will the characters submit their lives to Him and, in turn, forgive? What a wonderful book! (5 stars)

By the way, you can find my review for Heart’s Desire, the first book in this series, in a previous post.

I received a copy of this book for free from the author in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Me

The author began writing under the pen name June Caedmon in July of 2002. Since then she has completed seven novels, four of which have been published. She is an avid reader and enjoys the research that her writing style demands. She has little with which to commend herself and relies solely on God for her inspiration, wisdom and guidance. The author lives with her family in the Hill Country of Texas.

Please visit June’s webpage at http://www.junecaedmon.com/ and her blog at http://www.inspiredbyjune.com/.

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

