Review: Prairie Song (Hearts Seeking Home #1) by Mona Hodgson

16142056From start to finish, Prairie Song captured my attention. Mona Hodgson has written a beautiful novel full of deep characters. This is the first book in the Hearts Seeking Home series. I definitely plan to read every book in this series. I was also happy to discover that there are three novellas that come before this book. I was perfectly able to follow the storyline without having read the novellas, however, I now plan to read those as well.

The author tackles deep issues in Prairie Song. Anna struggles to keep everything flowing smoothly for her family as they join a wagon train headed west. This is not an easy task. Anna’s mother is mired in grief over the death of Anna’s brother in the war. Anna takes on such a burden trying to handle all of the problems of her family. Will there ever be true love for her?

Many interesting stories unfold on this wagon train west. Secrets, misunderstandings and problems abound. There are those trying to overcome heartache from the past, one who feels incredible guilt over the result of decisions he made during the war, and secrets that will eventually be made known.

Mona Hodgson did an excellent job weaving these storylines together. Prairie Song is well-written and the characters feel so very real. It was a true joy to read. (5 stars)

I received a copy of Prairie Song for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Mona

Married forty-one years to her leading man, Mona from Arizona lives in the Southwest where trees have arms instead of branches and salsa is a staple. When Mona Hodgson isn’t writing or speaking, she’s playing Wii games with her Arizona grandson, spending time with her mom, picnicking, texting her sisters, or chatting on Skype with her grandchildren in Africa.

Mona Hodgson is the author of nearly 40 books, historical novels for adults and children’s books, including her popular Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series, The Quilted Heart novellas, and upcoming Hearts Seeking Home Series. Her children’s books include bestseller, Bedtime in the Southwest, six desert and princess Zonderkidz I Can Read books, Real Girls of the Bible: A 31-Day Devotional, and her six I Wonder books.

Mona’s writing credits also include several hundred articles, poems and short stories, which have appeared in 50 different publications. Mona is a speaker for women’s groups, Christian women’s retreats, book clubs and reading groups, schools, and conferences for writers and librarians.

You can connect with Mona at http://monahodgson.com/ as well as on Facebook and Twitter.

16142056

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: Prairie Song (Hearts Seeking Home #1) by Mona Hodgson

  1. Mona Hodgson says:

    Hi, Brittany! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing Prairie Song. So glad you’re enjoying the folks in the Boone’s Lick Wagon Train Company. Now I’m excited for you to read The Quilted Heart novellas. Blessings to you!

  2. I didn’t know there were novellas that came before this book!! I will definitely need to read those, as I loved this story too!! Great review!

Leave a Reply

