Review: Murder Past Due (Cat in the Stacks Mystery #1) by Miranda James

7337871What started out as simply a search for a book cover featuring a cat on it in an attempt to fulfill a Goodreads Book Cover Bingo “stamp” requirement has instead introduced me to a fun series! This book is part of A Cat in the Stacks Mystery and is the first of the series.

The book is told from the perspective of Charlie, who works with rare books at the local college. He inherited a house and always has a couple of college boarders living there. He is also the friend and provider for a wonderful Maine Coon cat named Diesel.

I loved the way the author wrote about Diesel and how he has charmed most all of the town. Charlie takes him almost everywhere and it is fun to read about how Diesel interacts with others.

I found the mystery that needed to be solved in this book to be very interesting. It is a murder and there are so many suspects because the person murdered really had a lot of enemies. I thought I had it figured out, but I didn’t. The author truly surprised me at the end when the murderer was arrested and even added another twist to the story that I didn’t anticipate.

I am glad to have found out about this series. Murder Past Due was a fun read. (4 stars)

For more information about this series, visit http://www.catinthestacks.com/.

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Murder Past Due (Cat in the Stacks Mystery #1) by Miranda James

  1. sonja1971 says:

    Looks like a book I would enjoy. Thanks for that information!

Leave a Reply

