Review & Giveaway: Rebellious Heart by Jody Hedlund

RebelliousHeart_mck.inddI must admit that as I read Rebellious Heart this past week, my husband had to listen to me say numerous times, “Oh, I am sooo enjoying this book!” Another phrase he heard me repeatedly say was, “This is so good!” Finally, as I finished this story that is set amid the first grumblings of the American Revolution, I uttered, “Oh, that was wonderful! I wish it never had to end!”

With a well written plot and admirable characters, Rebellious Heart caught me up in its grasp right from the start and pulled me into the developing relationship of Susanna Smith and Benjamin Ross. These two characters have so much to recommend them. They care for others, love God and are deep thinkers. But can either of them give up on the idea that they must marry primarily to improve their positions in society? The attraction between Susanna and Ben sizzles. Throw in some heinous murders, Red Coats and a runaway indentured servant and you have a beautiful blend of romance and excitement.

I would recommend Rebellious Heart to all readers who love historical fiction and romance. (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of Rebellious Heart from the author and Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

jodyhedlundphoto

Jody has written novels for the last 20 years (with a hiatus when her children were young). After many years of writing and honing her skills, she finally garnered national attention with her double final in the Genesis Contest, a fiction-writing contest for unpublished writers through ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers).

Her first published book, The Preacher’s Bride (2010 Bethany House Publishers), became a best seller and has won multiple awards.

Since then she’s gone on to publish numerous best-selling and award-winning books.

You can connect with Jody (and read more of her bio) at http://jodyhedlund.com/. She is also on Facebook, Pinterest and Twitter.

And now for the giveaway details:
To enter the drawing for a new copy of Rebellious Heart: (Mailing address must be in U.S.)
1) Follow my blog (or let me know if you are already a follower)
2) Leave a comment on this blog post telling me the name of the book you are currently reading.
3) Please put your email address (you may put it in this example format to help fight spam – name at yahoo dot com)
(Contest will run from 9/28/13 – 10/1/13 midnight CST ) Winner will be announced on my blog and emailed on 10/2/13. Winner will have one week to reply back to me with their physical address or another name will be drawn.

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Review & Giveaway: Rebellious Heart by Jody Hedlund

  1. sonja1971 says:

    Hi Britt,
    I am a follower of your blog. This review makes it sound like a definite “must-read”. I too, am an avid reader of Christian fiction. I love books that leave a good feeling in my heart and mind. Currently I am reading “The Secret Keeper” by Beverly Lewis. I’m almost done, but I want it to keep on going and going…
    Sonja (dot) Nishimoto (at) gmail (dot) com

  2. savurbks says:

    I loved this book! I didn’t want it to end! I only hope Jody Hedlund hurries to write another one!

  3. I’m just getting started reading book blogs, but this book looks like it might be one I’d enjoy.

  4. I am reading “Justice for Sara”. By Erica Spindler. It is fantastic so far. Thereadmaster@me.com.
    I love Jody Hedlund’s books. I have not read this one yet but I plan to.

  5. Connie Saunders says:

    Would love to read this book!
    cps one nine five zero at g mail dot com

  6. Valerie says:

    I am reading veiled rose by anne elizabeth stengl, but my first love is historical fiction ❤

  7. Mary Williams says:

    Hello Britt. I would love to win this book. I have not been a reader of Christian fiction but for the last few months.I have discovered a really healthy appetite for it ever since. I ran out of books and started reading things I have on my kindle. Right now I am reading Love by the Letter by Melissa Jaegears.

  8. Camille says:

    I now follow you. I am reading “Romeo Redeemed” by Stacey Jay, as I am in a Fiction class at the moment and am trying to read only teen fiction for this semester. My e-mail is: csaunderson123@gmail.com

  9. marymoocow says:

    I love Hedlund’s books! Right now I’m reading Civil War diaries and letters. Mary at jesusbmylightATyahooDOTcom Thanks!

  10. Elizabeth Dent says:

    I am a follower and would love to win your book . I am now reading The Rose of Lancaster County by Murray Pura .
    Lizd225(at)gmail(dot)com

  11. Hi Brittany! I am a blog follower and can’t wait to read this book! My husband has to listen to me go on and on about books too! I am currently reading BLOWING ON DANDELIONS by Miralee Ferrell. Thank you for the opportunity to win a copy of Jody’s book!

    texaggs2000 at gmail dot com

  12. Jorie says:

    Hallo, Hallo!

    I follow your blog through the WP Reader, which is why I am dropping by today, as the post & the cover art drew my eye over! 🙂 I had meant to visit regularly, but time has been scarce lately! LOL You have a lovely blog and I do enjoy reading it when I have the chance too! 🙂 I am like you, I love finding stories that wrap me around their heart and do not want to let me go! I felt this with the last book I read, “The Spirit Keeper”, which was a unique story as it was told through a woman’s diary as she lived the life the story was about as it evolved! Thank you for offering this opportunity to win “Rebellious Heart”! I have not yet read a Jody Hedlund book, and would be most esteemed if I won!

    Deep thinkers are always the most insightful protagonists!

    [inkand-bookaways(at)usa(dot)net]

  13. Laura Pol says:

    My husband heard me say the same thing when reading this novel! 🙂
    Please don’t enter me into the drawing, I just wanted to check out how good you said the book was too!

  14. Bonnie says:

    I’m reading A Passion Most Pure, by Julie Lessman. Would love to read Jodie’s book!
    bonnieroof60(at)yahoo(dot)com

    I am a follower.

  15. Rach Merritt says:

    Reading “Larkspur Cove” by Lisa Wingate. Ewe_r_merritt (at) yahoo(dot)com. Follower.

  16. KayM says:

    Right now I am reading Damascus Countdown by Joel C. Rosenberg. Lots of action and intrigue! On my Kindle I am reading Claiming Mariah by Pam Hillman. Great characters! The non-fiction book that I’m reading is Charting the End Times by Tim LaHaye. Always enjoy learning more about prophecy!
    Thank you for the giveaway. I am looking forward to reading Rebellious Heart.
    may_dayzee(at)yahoo(dot)com
    I’m a follower.

  17. chris granville says:

    just signed up for your blog
    just finished reading Frasier Island by Susan Page Davis
    Your book sounds great
    God bless you
    Chris

  18. Michelle says:

    I can’t wait to read this book!
    I follow through email and I am reading Beloved by Robin Lee Hatcher.

  19. Kelly says:

    I am currently reading Livvie’s Song by Sharlene MacLaren and I would love to read Rebellious Heart next! I am a follower of your blog and my email is kosterbind at gmail dot com.

  20. jamielynne82 says:

    So glad you loved it too! I didn’t want it to end at all!

  21. Barbara Thompson says:

    Hi Brittany! I am now a follower of your blog and looking forward to it. Right now, I’m finishing the book Cowboy at Heart by Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith. I believe I have two chapters left and I haven’t decided what book I will read next. I love Jody’s books. Thank you for the opportunity to enter this giveaway. Please enter my name.
    barbmaci61(at)yahoo(dot)com

  22. Merry says:

    I am reading Made to Last by Melissa Tagg. Rebellious Heart sounds so good!
    I’m a follower.
    worthy2bpraised at gmail dot com

  23. Linda Reville says:

    I can’t wait to read this book. I’m currently reading The King by Steven James. I love his Patrick Bowers series.
    linlee822(at)gmail(dot)com

  24. Pam K. says:

    I’m a new follower of your blog, via email. I’m currently reading a Sandra D. Bricker book, “Always the Baker, Never the Bride.” I just finished Sarah Sundin’s newest book, “On Distant Shores.” It’s a terrific book. I’m enjoying my current book as well. I’ve been wanting to read “Rebellious Heart” so thanks for the chance to win a copy here.

  25. Gwen says:

    Can’t wait to read Jody’s latest, especially since I love the Revolutionary War period. I’m currently reading “Undeniably Yours” by Becky Wade. I’m a new follower of your blog.

    gwen[dot]gage[at]gmail[dot]com

  26. booklovers1 says:

    Again, what a great review. I love Hedlund’s book and hopefully get to read this book soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

