Interview with Joanne Bischof plus a Giveaway!

Cadence-of-Grace-1-1024x691

Today, I am blessed to be able to post my interview with Joanne Bischof,
author of The Cadence of Grace Series. After you read the interview with Joanne, there will be instructions for entering to win one of the books from this series.

A1@author-pics-073-1-198x300

Hi Joanne, could you tell us what The Cadence of Grace series is about (setting, characters, etc)?

The Cadence of Grace is a three-book historical romance series that takes place in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. It begins with a shotgun wedding between Lonnie, a shy quiet woman with a strong faith and Gideon, the handsome, arrogant mandolin player in Rocky Knob. Love blossoms…and then twists and turns ensue. 🙂 Readers have said it reminds them a bit of Christy or Janette Oke’s Love Comes Softly series, which are both such a huge honor.

How did you decide to write this particular series?
The funny thing is that I wasn’t really looking to write a series. This was one of those instances where the story found me. I didn’t know what it would turn into, but I just knew that I there was something there in this young couple who was the least likely pair to meet and fall in love. It grows and changes over the course of the three books and I really wanted it to be a testimony to how God can work all things out for His glory.

Of the three books, do you have a favorite? Was one book harder to write than the others? Which book was the most fun to write?

Great question. The hardest to write was probably Though My Heart is Torn. I think mainly because of the marriage mix ups that happen there. It was complicated to research on a technical level and emotional to write, but in the same way, so very rewarding. My greatest hope with these characters is to really have them grow on the page. When readers follow along for that journey and share with me how it’s blessed them, it’s the greatest encouragement.

As far as the most fun to write, I would have to say that’s My Hope is Found. A reviewer recently said that Gideon and Toby are like two roosters in the henhouse and truly, the contrast between the two heroes made it a fun story to tell. At the same time, it’s as emotional as the others, but because it’s the finale of the series, essentially the third act, there is great victory in it that I’d been waiting to write for years now.

I know you are a busy homeschool mom. How do you carve out time to write?
It’s tricky! I typically write while everyone is asleep which means that I get about an hour and a half of writing time while the little ones nap and if I’ve got a lot of work to do, I’ll also write late at night. I enjoy those hours, not only because I’m a bit of a night owl, but also because it’s so great to then have the day to spend with the kids and the evenings as a family when my husband gets home.

You recently attended the ACFW conference. What was your favorite part of the conference?
My favorite part of the conference was a pleasant surprise—I really enjoyed getting to chat with people, both whom I’d known before the conference and also those that I had met there. It was so great to get to hear about their conference experiences and see the light in their eyes as they shared their writing hopes and dreams. It really blessed me to be able to simply listen and share in the joy of so many writers with a wonderful passion for writing fiction for the Lord.

What is next for you? Are you currently writing a new book or series?
Currently, I’m working on some new story ideas—the research stages and early writing. It’s more Appalachian romance which is my favorite setting to write in. While it’s been bittersweet to say farewell to the characters of the Cadence of Grace series, it’s also been a lot of fun to work on these new projects!

Thanks for sharing with us today. Fellow readers…if you have not read Joanne’s books, I highly recommend that you do. They are full of a deep characters with so much heart in them! Joanne uses vivid imagery to pull the reader into the Appalachian setting and there are some twist and turns in these novels that you just won’t see coming. When I picked up the first book, I thought I would probably like it based on what I had heard about it, but never could I have imagined how these characters would pull me into their lives. What an emotional journey Joanne took me on!

I am hosting a giveaway for one of the Cadence of Grace books.
Contest ends on 10/14/13 at midnight CST. I will contact the winner by email and post the winners name on my blog on 10/15/13. To enter the contest (open to US only):
1)Please follow my blog
2)Make sure I have your email address
3)Comment and let Joanne know if you have read any of the Cadence of Grace books.

The winner can let me know which book they want. Your choices are:
Book #1: Be Still My Soul
Book #2: Though My Heart is Torn
Book #3: My Hope is Found (releasing 10/15/13)

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Interview with Joanne Bischof plus a Giveaway!

  1. karenk says:

    I LOVE Joanne’s novels….thank you for the chance to read Number 3.

    I’m a follower, too.

    karenk

  2. sonja1971 says:

    Hi, first, yes, I am a follower of your blog. These books sound very nice and I haven’t read any, so I would choose number 1, so that I can start from the beginning and go from there! I think I would enjoy then all!

  3. I love all her books but I don’t have the third one yet. I sure am hoping I can win it. I would choos number 3. Thanks so much I enjoyed the interview.. blog follower.
    Blessings
    joeym11@frontier.com

  4. Rach Merritt says:

    I haven’t read any… first I have heard of this author. One of the reasons I follow you! I love meeting new authors. I would want Book #1: Be Still My Soul ewe_r_merritt(at)yahoo(dot)com

  5. Beth says:

    I actually just got the first book, so would love to win the second one! Thanks for the interview & giveaway!

    Beth
    bharbin07[at]gmail[dot]com

  6. Cindi Altman says:

    I have not read any of the Cadence of Grace books yet.
    If I win, I would like to start with the first book, Be Still My Soul.
    Thanks for the opportunity to enter the contest.
    cindialtman(at)gmail(dot)com

  7. KayM says:

    I am looking forward to reading the Cadence of Grace series. I love historical set in the Appalachian Mountains. I am sure I will be blessed by Joanne’s writing.
    may_dayzee(at)yahoo(dot)com
    I follow your blog with a different email address.

  8. jamielynne82 says:

    Great interview! I haven’t read any of her books, but they sounds great! My email is booksandbeverages (at) gmail.com

  9. I am a follower of your blog. I have not read any of Joanne Bischof’s books, but they look like some I would like to read. I would want to start with the first one.
    susanmsj@msn.com

  10. Karen G. says:

    I read book 1 “Be Still My Soul” and really enjoyed it. Would love to read the rest of the series, so I would love a chance to win book 2. Thank you for the giveaway.
    kmgervais(at)nycap(dot)rr(dot)com

  11. Barbara Thompson says:

    I’m a follower of your blog. I haven’t read any of these books by Joanne Bischof, so I would need to start reading the first book Be Still My Soul. I’ve heard great reviews of these books. Thank you for the opportunity of a giveaway.
    barbmaci61(at)yahoo(dot)com

  12. Merry says:

    I enjoyed Be Still My Soul and would love to read book 2 in the series. Thanks!
    I’m a follower.
    worthy2bpraised at gmail dot com

  13. Pam K. says:

    I have Be Still My Soul in my to read pile waiting till I can get the other two books. I like to read a series like this all at once. It is so much more enjoyable for me to read a series in its entirety rather than several months (or a year) apart since by that time I would have forgotten what happened in the earlier books. If I win a book here, I’d choose book 2, Though My Heart is Torn.
    I’m a follower of your blog. Thanks for the chance to win and for this interview with Joanne.

  14. Bonnie says:

    Hi, Joanne! Loved your interview – as always! I’m reading:Be Still My Soul, with plans to read the other 2 books, also, & looking forward to MANY more to come! Love the emotion of your books, Joanne, & love your kind, gentle, sweetness!

    Thanks, Joanne, & Brittany, for the opportunity to win one of Joanne’s books!

    I am a blog follower.

    bonnieroof60(at)yahoo(dot)com

  15. Abbi Hart says:

    Great interview! I heard lots of good things about these books and I would love the chance to win! Thanks!
    Is there any way to follow other than by email? I do follow your blog with feedly but if I need to follow by email too I can!
    gatorade635(at)gmail(dot)com

  16. Patty H says:

    I have not read any of this series, but have heard lots of good things about it! I would love to win a copy of book #1

  17. Camille says:

    I have read Be Still My Soul and look forward to reading the other two books in the series.
    csaunderson123@gmail.com

  18. Katie J. says:

    I follow by email. I’ve read the other books in the series and would love to read book three My Hope Is Found.

    johnsonk133ATyahooDOTcom

  19. Brittany, Thank you for hosting this interview and for asking such great questions! AND for offering to give away a copy of the book to your readers. You are such a gem. I’m enjoying reading all of these comments!

  20. B. Adams says:

    I love Joanne and this wonderful, emotional series!!! I am anxiously awaiting the release of MY HOPE IS FOUND! Thank you so much for sharing this interview and giveaway, Brittany!

    texaggs2000 at gmail dot com
    I am a blog follower!

  21. chris granville says:

    I just found Joanne Bischof as a writer I would request the 1st book if I won
    They sound very good God bless All of You
    Chris Granville
    granvilleATfrontiernetDOTnet

  22. Karen G. says:

    Forgot to say I am a follower of your blog. kmgervais(at)nycap(dot)rr(dot)com

  23. I have just found her as an author. Thank you for the opportunity to win.
    Blessings
    Katrina eppersonkatina@yahoo.com

  24. Kay from NY says:

    I read the first book from the series that I borrowed from the library. I would like to continue the series but my library hasn’t been able to get the next two books due to very little money in the budget. If I win I hope to get the second book and maybe I’ll donate it to the library if they will take it and put it on their shelf and not in their bookstore. Thank you for the opportunity to win a copy.
    I’m also a follower of your blog.
    msbookwormlady(at)aol(dot)com

  25. I am a follower of your blog!

    I loved your first of the series – would like Though My Heart Be Torn – but I’d read anything you sent!

    missionwife AT hotmail DOT com

  26. I follow your blog!

    Oh, yes! I have read the first 2 books… and definitely had a ‘torn heart’ after finishing book 2! Love the mountain setting and want to get my hands on book #3…and so hoping for a happy ending!

    Stephanie
    mybabyblessings AT gmail DOT com

  27. Kelly says:

    I just got the first book of this series from the library and I am looking forward to starting it!

    I am a follower of your blog and I would love to win book #3!

    Kelly

  28. I’ve read all 3 books in this series and I absolutely loved them! Trust me, Joanne knows how I feel about her books. Make sure you have plenty of tissues handy while reading Book 2 . I would love to win a copy of My Hope Is Found, since I gave my ARC away on my blog. I am following your blog now. Here is my email: debsbunch5[at]jesusanswers[dot]com

  29. i would love to win this giveaway thanks for a chance
    Shirley B jcisforme@aol.com

  30. Joy says:

    I have not read any of the Cadence of Grace books. They are going on my wish-list now! Thanks for sharing about the author and her books! jumpforjoy@gmail.com

  31. martyomenko says:

    I am a new follower of your blog, my email is martha(at)lclink(dot)com
    I have read both book 1 and 2 and my choice (if I won) would be book three, which I am eagerly waiting to read. Joanne, thanks for sharing how you carve out time to write. I am a homeschool mom of four, and after I am done helping write essays, school assignments, reading history, I often feel brain dead and struggle with finding brain power to write.

  32. Judy B says:

    Hi Brittany, I thought I was already a follower of your blog but found I wasn’t! I took care of that problem though! I am now a follower! I haven’t read any of the books in the Cadence of Grace Books yet but they are on my wish list!

    Blessings!
    Judy B
    judyjohn2004(at)yahoo(dot)com

  33. Hi, I am following your blog! I have read all three of the Cadence of Grace series and have reviewed them. I would like this third final copy as I read an advance reader copy. Joanne Bischof has made these characters come alive and touch you in a deep way. I look forward to her future novels. Thank you for your interview today. Kathleen ~ Lane Hill House
    lanehillhouse[at]centurylink[dot]net

  34. Kevlin says:

    I have book 2 and 3 on my wish list. It would be a pleasure to win one of these. I follow your blog via email. Thank you.
    prettyinpurplerose(at)aol(dot)com

  35. Pingback: My Hope is Found by Joanne Bischof | A Book A Day

Leave a Reply

