Review: Born of Persuasion (Price of Privilege Trilogy #1) by Jessica Dotta

17703150Born of Persuasion is a well written, interesting story, however it is also a very dark one. I felt very frustrated throughout most of the book.

The heroine, Julia, is so easily deceived and lead astray throughout the entire story. As a reader, I could only sit back and bemoan the choices she was making. Many of these decisions were made based on partial facts or lies that had been told to her.

This gothic novel contains many characters, some very mysterious. Trying to discern who is good and who is evil in this novel is extremely hard.

I was unsure of exactly where this book was leading throughout most of the story. I can’t remember a time that I have not been able to foresee at least something of where a story was heading. The author weaves an intriguing tale and part of the way she does this is to add so much mystery into the novel.

I was hoping for a resolution at the end of the book, only to be left with a huge cliffhanger. I will be reading more books in this series, simply because I cannot bear to not have this situation between Julia, Edward and Mr. Macy resolved.

I received a copy of Born of Persuasion for free from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, which I have given. (4 stars)

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

JessicaforWeb

Jessica Dotta has always been fascinated by the intricacies of society that existed in England from the Regency through the Edwardian era. She writes in a manner that blends past and modern fiction techniques. She lives in the Nashville area and works as a free lance media consultant and publicist. Her first novel Born of Persuasion releases in September of 2013.

You can connect with Jessica at http://www.jessicadotta.com/ as well as on Twitter, Facebook and Pinterest.

17703150

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Born of Persuasion (Price of Privilege Trilogy #1) by Jessica Dotta

  1. Love the review! I can’t wait to read it! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Born of Persuasion by Jessica Dotta | A Book A Day

Leave a Reply

