Review: All God’s Children (The Peacemakers #1) by Anna Schmidt

17214101What an enthralling novel! All God’s Children is the first book in a trilogy and I can assure you that I will be reading the next two books. The author did a fantastic job of taking me back to Nazi occupied Germany in this tale of two young people and how they worked to affect change in such trying times.

Beth is a young woman who lives with her aunt, uncle and cousin in Munich. Although Beth is an American, she chooses to stay with her relatives and care for her aunt, who has some health issues. Their family is a Quaker family and attempts to stay neutral during the war.

Josef is a young medical student who begins renting a room with Beth’s family toward the beginning of the book. As a former soldier, the tension that this brings into the family household is strong.

As the war continues, Beth and Josef begin to realize that they feel more than friendship towards each other. Will Beth’s belief that every person is one of God’s children and her desire to help those being persecuted by the Nazi government bring these two closer together with a renewed spirit and purpose, or drive them apart?

I really enjoyed this book. I learned a lot about the Quaker faith and enjoyed the author’s note at the end of the book. I am so impressed to learn that certain people in this story were actually real people and that certain events in this book really happened. The characters and situations they were put into were believable and very interesting to read about. (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing, Inc. through The Book Club Network in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Anna Schmidt is a three-time finalist for the coveted RITA award presented annually by Romance Writers of America. Her novel A SISTER’S FORGIVENESS gives Anna her fourth finalist honor for the Reviewers’ Choice Awards from Romantic Times magazine. She has won that award twice before.

Anna is the author of over twenty works of historical and contemporary fiction including two series set in Florida’s unique Amish/Mennonite Gulf Coast community. Women of Pinecraft is a contemporary series that follows the lives of several women living in Pinecraft, Florida as they face challenges both personal and professional and find their way through life’s challenges to love and faith. Critics continue to applaud the series which includes: A STRANGER’S GIFT, the heartrending A SISTER’S FORGIVENESS as well as the third and final book in the series—A MOTHER’S PROMISE. Anna has also written a historical series set in Florida. AMISH BRIDES OF CELERY FIELDS tells the stories of four women living in the fictional Amish setting of Celery Fields in the 1930’s. The third book in the series: A GROOM FOR GRETA is available now and the 4th and final book in the series—SECOND CHANCE PROPOSAL– will be available in April, 2013.

Romantic Times has consistently awarded Anna’s novels four stars and notes that “Schmidt is not timid about presenting her characters with their faults laid bare for the reader to see.”

Having survived her own battle with uterine cancer and more recently the death of her beloved husband (and best friend) after an eight-year battle with pulmonary hypertension, Anna has found some solace in blogging about this journey at http://www.journeytowidowhood.wordpress.com.

In addition to writing, Anna loves gardening and she’s hauled enough seashells home from the Florida beaches that somewhere in the future, archeologists may believe there must have once been an ocean in Wisconsin!

You can connect with Anna at http://www.booksbyanna.com/ and http://booksbyanna.wordpress.com/.

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review: All God’s Children (The Peacemakers #1) by Anna Schmidt

  1. booklovers1 says:

    Thanks for the great review! I have been interested in reading this book, despite some of the negative reviews I’ve read. There’s just something about the cover that draws me in ….

  2. I have this one, but I haven’t got around to reading it yet!

  3. jamielynne82 says:

    Sounds like a interesting read!

  4. I ordered this book and it’s on it’s way to my house now! I can’t wait to read it. Just knowing you gave it a 5 star, is all I want to know. After I’ve read it, I’ll come back and read your review. I’m one of those crazy people who don’t want to know anything about a book (or movie) before I read it. Just a recommendation from someone I trust is good enough for me. Or if I already love the author’s other books.
    Thanks for the great review that I know you wrote! 🙂
    Debbie

  5. Pingback: Review: Simple Faith (The Peacemakers #2) by Anna Schmidt | Britt Reads Fiction

Leave a Reply

