Review: Love’s Awakening (The Ballantyne Legacy #2) by Laura Frantz

16109328A beautiful addition to The Ballantyne Legacy, Love’s Awakening is full of intrigue and forbidden love. Ellie and Jack captivated me from the very start. The possibility of a future together just seems so impossible. Their families have been enemies for a few decades by this point and the futility of either Jack or Ellie pursuing what is in their heart just tugged at me.

Jack is part of the dreaded Turlock clan, a powerful family with powerfully dangerous secrets. He just knows that the upstanding Ballantyne family would never allow Ellie to be his. Ellie feels pressured to marry. As she begins to realize that Jack has taken up residence in her heart, will she be brave enough to admit to her family where her true feelings lie, or feel forced to wed a man she does not love?

Love’s Awakening is a powerful tale combining a beautiful love story with rich historical detail and interesting information regarding the fight to transport slaves to freedom as they crossed Pennsylvania. (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion. I look forward to purchasing a copy of this novel to add to my personal collection.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Laura Frantz

I was born and raised in Kentucky, living first in Ashland, Mammoth Cave, Bowling Green, and then Lexington. But my heart has always been in Berea, Madison County, the place my family has resided since the 18th-century. I came to know Christ there at the age of 12, was baptized, and spent my childhood roaming through the woods and swimming in the rivers of my books.

My earliest memories are of the public library, standing in front of shelves filled with those little biographies of famous historical figures like Daniel Boone and George Washington and Sacajawea. I began scribbling stories at age 7 and thankfully never stopped. My passion then and now is history and all the wonders of past centuries.

I attended college at Denison University in Ohio and also in England, living in a manor/castle and studying the American Revolution from the British perspective. Shakespeare and 18th-century literature form the backbone of my English degree. Strangely enough, I only took one creative writing class.

It was never a desire of mine to be published. I simply love to write for the sheer joy of writing – and that was enough. But as Proverbs 16:9 says, β€œThe heart of a man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps.”

I hope my books bless you.

You can connect with Laura at http://laurafrantz.net/, as well as on Facebook and Pinterest.

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Love’s Awakening (The Ballantyne Legacy #2) by Laura Frantz

  1. Laura Frantz says:

    Brittany, You are such a busy mom and yet you took time for Ellie and Jack – I cannot thank you enough! A beautiful review in your signature style πŸ™‚ I’m honored and blessed. Thanks so much for this. I cannot wait for you to meet Wren and cast and am glad to send you a real copy. Today I rec’d the portfolio of the model and dress, circa 1850, for the upcoming cover shoot and hope you like it as much as I do. Thanks again for taking the time!! Off to share to Pinterest…

  2. booklovers1 says:

    Next Series on my to read list πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

