Review: A Necessary Deception (The Daughters of Bainbridge House #1) by Laurie Alice Eakes

10329431A Necessary Deception was a great ride back into the past. The author did a wonderful job of describing life in the ton and life in general back in the regency time period in England. This first book in the series follows widow Lydia Bainbridge as she tries to determine truth from lies and protect her family, while also staying true to England.

Lydia finds herself in quite a predicament when she is blackmailed by spies and forced to help them gain entrance to society. She is further dismayed to realize that she is having trouble determining who is truly working for England and who is looking to undermine it. She finds herself drawn to a French man, Christien, but is unsure of whether he is able to be trusted.

There is much to love about this book. The descriptions of the time period, the frustrations that Lydia faces in dealing with her sisters’ activities and bad choices, the guilt that Lydia bears over what she deems her failure as a wife, and the danger that follows Lydia and those she cares about all add up to a most appealing novel.

I am rating this book at 4 stars because it took me a while to really get into the book and truly understand all of the players. I was a bit confused at first. But, I am so happy that I persevered. The second half of the book just flew for me and I definitely plan to read the next two books in the series. I want to see what happens with Lydia’s two sisters and see them get their happy endings. I believe that lovers of Regency novels will truly enjoy this book.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

LaurieAliceEakes

“Eakes has a charming way of making her novels come to life without being over the top,” writes Romantic times of bestselling, award-winning author Laurie Alice Eakes. Since she lay in bed as a child telling herself stories, she has fulfilled her dream of becoming a published author. To date, she has sixteen books in print with five more under contract for release over the next two years. Eight of her books have been published in large print editions, one as a Crossings Bookclub hardcover edition, and one book has been put into Braille.

A graduate of Asbury University with a degree in English and French, and Seton Hill University, with a masters degree in Writing Popular Fiction, she also writes articles in writers publications, teaches writing workshops, and gives inspirational talks.

She lives in Texas with her husband, dogs, and cats. She enjoys long walks, all too rare rainy days, and knitting—rather badly—while watching movies or listening to music.

Follow her on Twitter: https://twitter.com/LaurieAEakes

Connect with her at http://www.lauriealiceeakes.com/ and on Facebook.

10329431

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: A Necessary Deception (The Daughters of Bainbridge House #1) by Laurie Alice Eakes

  1. booklovers1 says:

    I have just finished reading her Midwives series and was blown away with how good each book was!! They were the first books of Eake’s that I’ve read, however it will not be the last!! Thanks for the review. I must get onto this book ASAP!

Leave a Reply

