Review: Forsaken Dreams (Escape to Paradise #1) by MaryLu Tyndall

15823841This book is a fabulous beginning to the Escape to Paradise series! It is also the first book that I have read by MaryLu Tyndall and I am very impressed. In this novel, we follow a group of Southerners as they sail away from the war-ravaged United States just after the Civil War’s end. There are a host of interesting characters, which makes for much tension and quite a few back stories that can be explored throughout the whole series.

The heroine in Forsaken Dreams is widow Eliza Crawford, who harbors a bitter secret that threatens her each day of the voyage. I really liked Eliza and how she persevered through some very trying times. Her forgiveness for the way others treated her and her caring ways for them as she nursed people back to health spoke to her inner character. The author did a wonderful job creating a character that had likeable qualities, many of them, but still a stubborn self will that needed to learn to surrender to God.

The hero in Forsaken Dreams is Colonel Blake Wallace, a strong leader, who is extremely embittered toward Northerners and has bouts of what we now call PTSD. His enmity is understandable, as he lost his whole family in the course of the war. The author crafted a brave and stalwart hero, who I couldn’t help but like. But at the same time, his unwillingness to let go of the anger and learn to forgive frustrated me throughout the book. There were quite a few times that I wanted to shake the man! God had some work to do on him in this book!

I am so excited to read the next book in this series and am glad that I have it waiting for me on my shelf, so that I do not have to wait long! Highly recommend. (5 stars)

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

MaryLu

A Christy Award finalist, MaryLu Tyndall dreamt of tall ships and swashbuckling heroes during her childhood years on Florida’s Atlantic Coast. She holds a degree in Math and worked as a software engineer for fifteen years. Trapped in a land-locked cubicle, she was often seen pounding furiously upon the keyboard during her lunch hour, creating what would become her Legacy of the King’s Pirates series, all the while believing God’s promise to her that. “If you write it, I will get it published”. And He did! Fourteen books later, her loving husband and six children still haven’t gotten used to her historic costumes and nautical speech. MaryLu describes herself as an introvert, patriot, mother of six, the neighborhood cat-lady, tall ship enthusiast, friend of pirates and mermaids, obsessive compulsive control freak, history lover, hopeless romantic, and a sword wielding princess-warrior of the King of Kings. Her books are filled with adventure and romance and themes that are guaranteed to touch your heart! She continues to pen her romantic tales on the California coast while managing a home, husband, six adult kids, and several stray cats who have decided that her keyboard is the best place to sleep! She believes that without popcorn and chocolate, life would not be worth living, and her sole motivation in life is to bring others closer to God.

You can connect with MaryLu on Facebook, http://marylutyndall.com/, and http://crossandcutlass.blogspot.com/.

15823841

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review: Forsaken Dreams (Escape to Paradise #1) by MaryLu Tyndall

  1. Rachael Merritt says:

    Thanks for the review! I’m interested in both of these, but I hadn’t read a review of the first one!

  2. booklovers1 says:

    I’m thirlled that you like it!! I know I LOVED IT!! One of my favourite books of all time. Completely envious that you already have the next one 😀
    I can’t believe that this is your first book of MaryLu’s. I highly recommend Surrender the Heart!

    • Brittany says:

      Ooh! I have Surrender the Heart sitting on my bookshelf! I found it at a bookstore on clearance for $2.00! I snatched it up, but just haven’t gotten to reading it yet. But, sounds like I should.

      • booklovers1 says:

        Lucky you!!! If you loved Forsaken Dreams, it is guaranteed that you will enjoy Surrender the Heart. I must keep my eye out for good bargains like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

