Review: Seal Under Siege (Men of Valor #2) by Liz Johnson

17570261OK…I am going to say this again…and it will be the fourth time I have said it this week! But…here goes…This is the first book that I have read by this author. This week has been full of books for me, lots of reading! And surprisingly, many of the books have been by new-to-me authors. Seal Under Siege is no exception. And it is an amazing book! It begins with a tense rescue operation and never lets up. There is action and danger all through the book, with healthy doses of attraction between the two main characters.

And, oh man, is there attraction between these characters! But, one of the best things about this book is that fact that BOTH of the characters have big issues in their past that make them feel that they are unworthy of being in a relationship, especially one that could end in marriage.

The author did such a good job of getting my emotions all roiled up! I felt so sad for Staci and all that she thought she could never have. She is such a strong woman, who has endured much more physically and emotionally than most. And she keeps persevering, even when things get pretty hard for her in the book.

Tristan is also such a well-written character. He is just the kind of hero that those of us who like romance novels look for. He is strong and smart, but also sensitive. He, however, can’t seem to let go of the past and the guilt he feels for it. Holding onto that guilt keeps him from connecting and loving again.

This book is the second in a series, but is definitely able to stand alone. I am now planning on getting myself a copy of the first book in this series! I want to read Matt and Ashley’s story for myself. I highly recommend this book. (5 stars)

I won this book in a contest over on http://www.barndoorbookloft.net and was sent the copy from the author. I was not required to write a review, but happily do so.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

liz-johnson-author-21

After graduating from Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff with a degree in public relations, Liz Johnson set out to work in the Christian publishing industry, which was her life-long dream. In 2006 she accepted a position in the publicity department at a major publisher, and while working as a publicist in the industry, she decided to pursue publication of her own books. She is now the New York Times best-selling author of A Star in the Night (in A Log Cabin Christmas Collection), a handful of short stories, and five novels for Love Inspired Suspense, including A Promise to Protect and SEAL Under Siege. She is a two-time ACFW Carol Award finalist, and her most treasured title is “favorite aunt” to three nieces and two nephews.

Liz makes her home in Nashville, TN, where she enjoys exploring the Southern hospitality, harmonies, and history that Music City offers all year long.

You can connect with Liz on Facebook, Twitter or at http://www.lizjohnsonbooks.com/.

17570261

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

