Review: Forever Friday by Timothy Lewis

17262109 Forever Friday is a very unique way to tell a love story. The author sets the story up by introducing us to Adam, a man who does not know if it is possible for true love to last. He is disheartened by his wife leaving him two years earlier. After discovering a set of postcards with love poems on them that spanned sixty years of a couple’s marriage, Adam set out to learn the secret to this now deceased couple’s lasting romance.

The first portion of the book moved a little slowly for me. However, after the initial introduction of the main characters and beginning situations in the book, things really took off. The story jumps back and forth between the present (2006), the recent past (2004) and the distant past (1926 – 1986). I did not feel this was confusing at all, as the author did a good job of beginning each historical chapter with one of the poem postcards and then going on to explain the situation that the postcard referenced.

The main love story in the book, spanning sixty years, is the story of Gabe and Huck’s romance. It is truly a romance to take your breath away. The author did a great job of creating characters that touched my heart and I really enjoyed reading their love story. I admit that I would have liked more of a love story between Adam and Yvette, the young woman who was very close to Gabe and Huck and helped fill in the blanks for Adam. However, I understand that giving them a big love story would have detracted from the main romance.

I think this story will stay in my mind for quite a while. Gabe and Huck discovered the way to keep romance alive for sixty years of marriage. Very sweet story. (4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of Forever Friday from WaterBrook Press in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.

Please rank my review at http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/bloggingforbooks/reviews/view/28409

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Timothy Lewis

Timothy Lewis is an author and playwright. He has authored more than twenty plays/musicals. In addition, he teaches a beginning novel writing class at West Texas A&M University and co-directs a summer writing academy. Timothy is also a professional speaker, cowboy poet, actor, and songwriter. He drew inspiration for Forever Friday from the postcards sent between his great-aunt and great-uncle over a period of sixty years. He lives with his wife near Amarillo, Texas.

Connect with the author at
http://timothylewisbooks.com/ and Facebook and Twitter

17262109

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review: Forever Friday by Timothy Lewis

  1. Sounds like an interesting approach to a love story. Thank you for sharing. I love when a story sticks with you for a bit.

  2. Titanic Buff says:

    A wee bit off topic, Britanny, but I have seen the rating/ranking feature on Blogging for Books. Is there a certain purpose for it (i.e. whether we are allowed to remain part of the blogging program)? Or is it just like a thumbs up and thumbs down feature that we see on some retailer websites to let people know we did or did not find their review helpful?

  3. Pingback: Month of Romance – Forever Friday Giveaway!!! | Britt Reads Fiction

Leave a Reply

