Review: Cozy Christmas by Valerie Hansen

18050795 I won this book in a contest on another blog and when the author sent this book to me, I decided to read it right away since it is a Christmas book. I have had a lot of fun reading Christmas stories over the holidays and this is another story that I really enjoyed.

The author has done a wonderful job of creating a sweet, hometown atmosphere and a truly cozy Christmas (as the title implies). The storyline is clever and the characters are likeable. The heroine of the story, Whitney, was sometimes a bit pushy, however, that really goes along with her personality and career. She is a journalist, after all, and intent on uncovering some hidden information in her town.

Josh is the local coffee shop barista, and is very hesitant to have Whitney asking him so many questions and wanting his help to uncover the mysterious town benefactor. As feelings grow between the two, will Whitney’s determination to figure out the truth undermine what could be true love?

If you are looking for a sweet Christmas love story, with a twist, you will find it in Cozy Christmas. I am glad I read it during the holidays, however, I must admit that I will also read holiday stories at other times of the year, too! (4 stars)

I won this book in a contest on http://iblog4books.blogspot.com/ and received this book from the author. I was not required to write a review, but happily do so.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Valerie Hansen

It all started with a cute little mouse.

Trying to decide the best way to tell you about myself, I remembered an incident that pretty much sums up my life…if you have a good sense of humor and dig deeply enough!

I’d been assigned the desk next to an interesting guy in Geometry class but I hadn’t been able to get him to say more than a polite, “Hello.” Then, one day, my problem “accidentally” solved itself.

Physiology class had just ended. I rushed from there to Geometry, sat down, and noticed that I was suddenly attracting attention. I squirmed in my seat. Smoothed my hair. Checked my clothing. What was going on? Why was everybody staring? Someone tapped me on the shoulder. It was the guy I’d been wanting to get to know better! He was laughing when he said, “Excuse me, but do you know you have a mouse in your pocket?” Embarrassed, I looked down and there was little Maverick, the macho, mousy sire for my current genetics project, poking his nose out of my coat pocket to see what was going on! (I got an A on the mouse project, married the interesting guy, and we raised two great kids who still wonder why their daddy sometimes teases me by asking if I have a mouse in my pocket.)

My whole life has taken amazing turns like that. It’s still happening. You can read more details and find out about my current books, written for Love Inspired as Valerie Hansen, on the Love Inspired (via Harlequin) web site and at http://www.LoveInspiredAuthors.com . All my books reflect my growing faith and a joyful appreciation of the life the Lord has always provided for me, even when I didn’t have a clue what was going on – which was most of the time. And it still is! But, by His grace, I’m still hanging there and writing up a storm.

I believe in happy endings, endless possibilities, perseverance, romance, and looking for the best in every situation. I love my family, friends, animals of all kinds, gardening, chocolate, and writing the books of my heart. Now, if chocolate weren’t fattening, life would be just about perfect!

You can connect with Valerie at:
http://www.valeriehansen.com/ as well as on Goodreads

18050795

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Cozy Christmas by Valerie Hansen

  1. cherylcarroll1 says:

    insightful review…even if christmas has already passed use my i think i have a place for this on my bookshelf

Leave a Reply

