Review: Barefoot Summer (Chapel Springs #1) by Denise Hunter

16122786 I figured out a few years ago that I am a fan of Denise Hunter’s writing. I have not read all of her books, but I am trying to rectify that! I have a few sitting on my bookshelf and a few waiting on my kindle. But, of those that I have read, I have loved each one. Barefoot Summer is definitely no exception to this.

Madison McKinley is a successful veterinarian and the member of a wonderful family. But there is something eating away at her. Years ago, she lost her twin brother and the pain just has never lessened. She suffers from intense nightmares that are affecting how she functions during the day. She hopes that by fulfilling her brother’s biggest dream and winning the sailing Regatta, she can finally put the nightmares behind her.

To achieve her brother’s dream, Madison needs the help of Beckett O’Reilly. Once the town bad boy, Beckett is now a very different man. He struggles with an alcoholic father and a grandfather with Alzheimer’s. To train Madison for the Regatta, Beckett will spend hours and hours in Madison’s company. He has been drawn to her since high school, but has never felt worthy of her because of his family’s history.

Barefoot Summer has all of the elements I need in a romance. These are elements that one or both of the main characters must work through in the course of the story. There is pain that needs to be worked through, feelings of unworthiness and guilt that need to be overcome, love that has been simmering for years and just now might have the chance to break through and be real, wonderful attraction that is sweet and a romance that builds throughout the story.

I am really enjoying this Chapel Springs series. I have read Barefoot Summer and A December Bride (novella). I am really looking forward to reading Dancing with Fireflies.
(5 stars)

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Denise Hunter

Denise lives in Indiana with her husband Kevin and their three sons. In 1996, Denise began her first book, a Christian romance novel, writing while her children napped. Two years later it was published, and she’s been writing ever since. Her books often contain a strong romantic element, and her husband Kevin says he provides all her romantic material, but Denise insists a good imagination helps too!

Connect with Denise at:
http://www.denisehunterbooks.com/ as well as on Facebook and Twitter

16122786

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: Barefoot Summer (Chapel Springs #1) by Denise Hunter

  1. Gail Hollingsworth says:

    I love reading the Smitten series she wrote with three other wonderful authors, Colleen Coble, Diann Hunt and Kristen B. Another great author you might consider reading is Sheila Roberts. Although she’s not classified as a Christian author her books are clean and she has a delightful sense of humor. Her On Strike For Christmas was made into a Hallmark movie.

    • Brittany says:

      Thanks Gail! I always love getting recommendations for new authors to read. I have heard about the Smitten series but haven’t read it yet. But with both Colleen Coble and Denise Hunter in there, I bet it is good 🙂

      • Gail Hollingsworth says:

        Sadly Diann Hunt passed away in Nov of ovarian cancer so the last Smitten book will be out in Feb. Diann was a very close friend of Colleen and also also wrote many wonderful books herself

  2. Rissi says:

    This novel was beautiful. Like you, cannot wait to read up on what’s next. 🙂

Leave a Reply

