Review: The Secrets of the Montebellis by Cheryl Colwell

18428164 What a fabulous book! The Secrets of the Montebellis proved to be a real page turner for me. This book has it all – a beautiful setting, a damsel in distress, certain characters so full of hate and spite that they would try to tear down a woman and her family legacy. The story also contains wonderful character development and a plot that twists and turns in such a way that I wondered how anything could possibly end up working out in the heroine’s favor by the end of the book. There are also two sweet love stories that work their way through the novel. They are well done and a respite from the dark side of the storyline.

The book is primarily about a woman named Lisa Richards who is in an unloving and abusive relationship. The hatred that her husband shows her is painful to read about, but handled well by the author. Lisa has developed a plan to try to escape from this overbearing man who is jealous of her family history. That history and the lands related to it are a key part of Lisa’s hope for escape. But, when her plans start to crash down around her, Lisa will need the help of both new and old friends to weather the storm and come out on top. I really enjoyed the mystery and secrets that the author slowly revealed throughout the book. Her attention to detail in constructing these clues made for a very interesting read that I enjoyed from page one all the way to the end of the book. (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author through BookCrash in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

CherylColwell

Passionate about all things creative, Cheryl finds inspiration in the countryside of Ashland, Oregon – her family’s ancestral home and the perfect venue for her interests in writing, gardening, art, and relationships.

John, her husband, best friend, and chiropractor, keeps her in shape for gardening and writing long into the night. They are delighted to have four unique and talented children and three grandchildren. A smart and playful English Shepherd makes their empty nest a happy place. Cheryl says, “I am blessed beyond measure to know Jesus Christ as my Lord and friend.”

She began writing fiction in 2007. Following the theme, “Stunning Suspense,” her characters visit stunning locations while they pursue adventurous quests peppered with mystery, suspense, and romance. She thinks of her novels as “cozy” suspense.

You can connect with Cheryl at:
http://www.cherylcolwell.com/, as well as on Facebook, Twitter and Goodreads.

http://www.amazon.com/The-Secrets-Montebellis-Cheryl-Colwell-ebook/dp/B00G4Y593E/ref=tmm_kin_title_popover?ie=UTF8&qid=1391386406&sr=8-1

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: The Secrets of the Montebellis by Cheryl Colwell

  1. Your book sounds great
    Please have a terrific,blessed sunday……
    Chris Granville

  2. Thanks Cheryl for a great review. Know it makes me wish I had it. Will have to watch for it in contest or at my library. Wisssh this was a give-away. Maxie

  3. Carole says:

    I would never have known about this book but for your review, Brittany, so thank you. It was only 99 cents for Kindle, so I’m going to try it.

Leave a Reply

