Review: Take a Chance on Me (Christiansen Family #1) by Susan May Warren

17253180 I love finding a new book series to fall in love with! And that is what I feel has happened after reading Take a Chance on Me. This book was wonderful and introduced me to a family that I want to learn everything about. I have had this book on my Kindle for awhile, however, had not gotten around to reading it until now. I knew that I needed to read it, since I have book two waiting to be read and reviewed as part of an upcoming blog tour. I am so glad that I did.

Take a Chance on Me takes place in Deep Haven, Minnesota. This is the setting of another series that Susan May Warren wrote. But don’t worry if you haven’t read that series. You don’t need to read it to understand what is going on in this new series.

In this first book of the series, we meet the Christiansen family. This is a family that really loves each other and stands strong together. John and Ingrid Christiansen own the Evergreen Resort. They have six grown children. Take a Chance on Me is about their oldest, Darek, who is a widower and single father. He has so much anger in his heart. Anger toward himself, his dead wife, his former best friend, God and just life in general.

Ivy is new to Deep Haven. She has never had the love and support of a family or the stability of staying in one town for long. She falls in love with Deep Haven and plans to make her permanent home there as a county prosecutor. Ivy has some issues with believing that God cares, based on things that have happened in her life. Things in her life always seem to fall apart, but now Ivy holds out hope for a family and future. So, when she has the chance to grow close to Darek and then finds that there are some truths that might come to light and tear them apart, she is devastated.

Two other characters, Jensen and Claire, have their own pasts to deal with and their own issues with God to come to terms with. Their back stories, as well as Ivy and Darek’s are interwoven and so very interesting. All of these characters are very well-written. I am really looking forward to reading more from this series. (5 stars)

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
SusanMayWarren

You can connect with Susan on her website at http://www.susanmaywarren.com/. She also has a great blog at http://www.susanmaywarren.com/scribbles-blog/ and is on Facebook and Twitter.

17253180

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

