Month of Romance – Winter in Full Bloom (2 Book Giveaway)

17290454

This is the last week for the Month of Romance giveaways that I have been running on this blog. A big THANK YOU goes out to Anita Higman again this week for offering two copies of Winter in Full Bloom for two winners!

This is such a good book! You can read my review here.

Interview with Anita:

5_025

Winter in Full Bloom is set in Texas as well as Australia. What made you want to set the novel in these two places?
Well, I live in Texas, and so I wanted to make use of my home state. After living here for about thirty years I have a soft spot for Texas now. Also, I’d visited Melbourne, Australia for about three weeks and had taken notes, and since it was such an exotic place and I’d had such an amazing time there, I wanted to share some of my experiences with readers.

The cover is beautiful. Did you have any input in this cover?
Yes, actually, I did. The publisher sent me a few samples to look at, and I chose this one. But the cover you see now was tweaked a number of times. One of the changes was the addition of the red tulips all along the snowy path. I’m so glad the publisher was open to changes. I’m very happy with the final cover. It reflects the story even better than before, and I think that bit of unexpected intrigue along the road will be eye-catching to the bookstore browser.

That title is unique. How did you come up with Winter in Full Bloom?
Sometimes I brainstorm titles, and then sometimes I use a phrase I find within the manuscript that works well as a title. Winter in Full Bloom was created during one of my brainstorming sessions. As a side note, there are a couple of meanings to this tile. The heroine’s name is Lily Winter. Also, half of the book takes place in Houston at the advent of winter, but when she flies to Melbourne at the same time of the year, Australians are experiencing the beginning of spring. So, even though Lily has begun getting ready for winter, she suddenly enters into a season of springtime—literally and in her personal life.

Are the characters from your imagination, or do they come from real life?

My characters are a mixture of both. I’ll be watching someone at the airport or the mall or at church, and I’ll think, “Wow, that gesture or laugh or walk is perfect for my character.” Then some of my character’s traits will come straight from my imagination. Usually, it’s a fun brew of all the above.

Your heroine, Lily Winter, is experiencing empty nest. Why did you add that element to the story?
I was going through this same rough phase of motherhood, and I thought it would be good to add this to the story. I hope it added an element of authenticity to the tale. And too, forcing myself to write about the pain surely helped me deal with it better.

Winter in Full Bloom is a love story but also a story of family reconciliation. Have you experienced that last part in your own life?
Yes, I have known the miracle of family reconciliation, and it has brought me great joy!

How long have you been writing?
I’ve been in this profession for about thirty years. It’s been a long, stumbly kind of journey. I’ve had some dark hours—those moments when I really didn’t know what I was doing or why I was doing it. Moments when rejection swept me under like a scary undertow. Moments when getting published seemed pretty much impossible. But I never gave up, and I’m glad I didn’t. I’ve had thirty-four books published in many genres, and even though it’s been a rough ride, it’s also been deeply satisfying.

Any final words for your readers?
If you have ever taken the time to read one of my novels, I thank you with all my heart. I sincerely hope that Winter in Full Bloom inspires you and makes you laugh, and when you come to the last page and close the book, I hope your heart and your step feels just a little lighter.

Giveaway starts on 2/22/14 and ends on 2/27/14. I will announce the winners on 2/28/14 and they will have a week to respond to my email.

Please leave a comment on my blog to be entered in the giveaway. Detailed rules below:

Rules for giveaway:
1) US residents only due to shipping costs
2) Please leave a comment on my blog
3) Must be a follower of my blog
4) Make sure I have your email address so I can contact you.

To connect with Anita Higman:

http://www.anitahigman.com

https://www.facebook.com/#!/AuthorAnitaHigman

To buy the book:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0802405800/ref=s9_simh_gw_p14_d0_i1?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=1B7G7BSP3QFDJV2D858H&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=1688200382&pf_rd_i=507846

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Month of Romance – Winter in Full Bloom (2 Book Giveaway)

  1. Hi, Britt and Anita. This sounds like such a lovely book. Though many people my age have already entered into the empty nest stage of life, I made a late start with parenthood. That being said, as I’ve watched others begin to face what’s often a bittersweet time of life, I’ve also begun to dread it. LOL! It would be lovely to read a positive take on the transition, so I’d be thrilled to win Anita’s book. Blessings!

    bizzysyb[at]gmail[dot]com

  2. Jackie Smith says:

    I am anxious to read this book……it sounds fantastic! Thanks for the giveaway.
    I subscribe to your blog via E mail and enjoy it very much.
    jacsmi75 at gmail dot com

  3. Rachael Merritt says:

    I loved her book ” Marriage in Middlebury” I’m sure this one is wonderful as well! Ewe_r_merritt(at)yahoo(dot)com. I follow your blog via email.

  4. Melanie Backus says:

    Great review, Britt! Can’t wait to read this one. I am a follower and enjoy your blog. Thank you for the giveaway.

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  5. Stunning cover !
    thanks for the month of celebration and giveaway generosity from great authors !!

  6. sonja1971 says:

    Very nice job, Britt. I think this sounds great and would love to read it. Am a follower! Sonja dot Nishimoto at gmail dot com

  7. novelscorner says:

    This is so sweet 🙂 looks like an amazing r

  8. Alyssa Faith says:

    This seems to be an interesting read from the reviews I have read on Goodreads.
    a.f.washburn@aol.com

  9. Thanks for the chance to win this book! Sounds like a great book, and I love the cover, too. 🙂
    jensmithwriter(at)yahoo(dot)com

  10. Oh, and I follow your blog via my WordPress account. 🙂

  11. Pam K. says:

    Winter in Full Bloom sounds like a book I’d really like to read. Thanks for the chance to win it.
    I’m a follower of your blog via e-mail.
    pmk56[at]sbcglobal[dot]net

  12. Alyssa H. says:

    Yay! This book sounds really good! I’m so glad for the chance to win it!

  13. Gail Hollingsworth says:

    Anita, you look too young to be an empty nester! My youngest is almost 26 and still living at home but he has studied two careers so far…..
    Thanks for the chance to win such a lovely book! tumcsec(at)gmail(dot)com.

  14. Thanks Britt for the interview. Love the cover of your book Anita. Also the title. An empty nest should be when a couple gets back to having some us time. A time that they can travel if they desire. And, it is exciting when the kids come home at different times.I must have been about 33 or 34 when my first child left home. And 44 when my fourth left to marry. You see, I married young, 16. I would love to win this book as a gift. Thanks for the chance. I’m a follower.
    Maxie mac262(at)me(dot)com

  15. katie07edgar says:

    This book is in my TBR pile! I have heard other authors say that they do not have any say in the cover, so I think it is really neat this author got a say, and picked such a pretty one! Thanks for this opportunity! katie07edgar(at)gmail(dot)com Katie Edgar

  16. Becky B says:

    What great review. I too love the cover. Thanks for the chance to win.
    boernerb at fuse dot net

  17. Maryann says:

    Great interview Brittany. Anita, the Lord has really blessed you with the gift of writing. 30 years and 34 books. That is quite impressive. Keep using your gift for Him, its a blessing to all those who read your books. I would love to read Lily Winter’s story in this book.
    I am an e mail follower

  18. Heather O says:

    The cover of this book is very beautiful. I love the colors. Thanks for the giveawaya.
    koho143(at)hotmail(dot)com

  19. Janet says:

    This sounds like a book I would love to read on the front porch.

  20. Jane Squires says:

    Would love to win this and review it. It sounds like a very good read. God Bless.
    jrs362 at Hotmail dot com

  21. Savurbks says:

    I am drawn to this book just by the cover (reminds me of Mary Poppins) but your review makes me want to read it even more.
    I am a follower; thanks for the chance to receive this book!

Leave a Reply

