Review: Tide and Tempest (Edge of Freedom #3) by Elizabeth Ludwig

18059815 I am going to start by saying that this is one of the best covers I have seen this year. The scene on the cover and the colors are beautiful. The picture of the hero is also accurate and fits the description that is in the novel. Next, I would like to add that I have not read the other books in this Edge of Freedom series, yet I had absolutely no problem following the storyline. In fact, this book has now opened my eyes to a new author and I plan to go read her other books as well. I love it when that happens!

Tide and Tempest is a fascinating story. It is full of very interesting characters, some of whom find themselves in imminent danger. The plot of the story hinges on these characters trying to discover why they are in harm’s way, who is trying to kill them and what they should do to try to stay alive. It is all very exciting.

But not to be outdone, the romance is equally as satisfying in Tide and Tempest. I loved watching the feelings develop between the characters and how they dealt with these emotions. The heroine, Tillie, carries quite a bit of guilt and has trouble believing that she could be deserving of anyone’s love. Captain Morgan and his younger brother, Cass, also have developing feelings toward Tillie. This is quite the enthralling love triangle.

I also loved the fact that this book is filled with men and women who have come over from Ireland. The author does a wonderful job of writing in that special Irish accent, without it being overdone. It is just enough that I could hear their Irish brogue but not be distracted by it. This was such a well-written book and I could tell that I was really going to enjoy the author’s writing style even as early as twenty-five pages into the story. I recommend this book to those who love historical fiction, romance and suspense. (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of Tide and Tempest from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review, which I have given. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

ElizabethLudwig

Elizabeth Ludwig is an award-winning author whose work has been featured on Novel Rocket, the Christian Authors Network, and The Christian Pulse. Her first novel, Where the Truth Lies (co-authored with Janelle Mowery), earned her the 2008 IWA Writer of the Year Award. This book was followed in 2009 by “I’ll be Home for Christmas”, part of the Christmas anthology collection, Christmas Homecoming.

In 2011, her second mystery, Died in the Wool (co-authored with Janelle Mowery) was nominated for a Carol Award. In 2012, the popular EDGE OF FREEDOM series released from Bethany House Publishers. Books one and two, No Safe Harbor and Dark Road Home, respectively, earned 4 Stars from the RT Book Reviews. Book three, Tide and Tempest, received top honors with 4 1/2 Stars.

Elizabeth is an accomplished speaker and teacher, often attending conferences and seminars where she lectures on editing for fiction writers, crafting effective novel proposals, and conducting successful editor/agent interviews. Along with her husband and children, she makes her home in the great state of Texas.

You can connect with Elizabeth on her website, as well as on Facebook and Twitter.

18059815

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: Tide and Tempest (Edge of Freedom #3) by Elizabeth Ludwig

  1. Gail Hollingsworth says:

    I agree with you about the cover. It really frosts me when a cover has models that don’t even come close to the descriptions of the characters. Another dislike of mine is all the covers with shirtless men! Men are much more attractive to me and sexier when they are wearing shirts! I’ve de-friended several authors on Facebook because they show those covers all the time and I get tired of it. Guess I’m just an old fuddy duddy grandma.

  2. Rissi says:

    Not reading your review (yet) because I need to read/review this one yet, Brittany but I’m thrilled it got five stars. šŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Happy 1 Year Blogaversary to Me!! Let’s Celebrate with Some Giveaways! | Britt Reads Fiction

Leave a Reply

