Review: A Heart’s Rebellion (London Encounters #2) by Ruth Axtell

18059979 What a wonderful regency novel! Don’t worry if you haven’t read the first book, Moonlight Masquerade. A Heart’s Rebellion can stand alone just fine. However, I have read Moonlight Masquerade and it was such a pleasure to get to visit with Celine and Rees again! You can read my review of Moonlight Masquerade here, but now on to my review of A Heart’s Rebellion.

The beginning of the book started a little slowly for me. This is not actually a complaint. I felt the author did a great job of setting the scene. Jessamine Barry had been horribly hurt approximately a year earlier when the man she had been in love with since childhood broke her heart. After waiting patiently and doing everything that a dutiful daughter should, she felt jilted and unlovable. When the chance comes to have a London season and remake her image, she takes it.

Lancelot Marfleet feels drawn to Jassamine, but also very frustrated with the way she rebuffs him. He does know that he feels protective of her and is concerned with her reckless behavior. Lancelot is not the typical “hero” described in most romance novels, however, that does not diminish him in any way. His strong character and caring personality quickly made me root for him to win Jessamine’s heart.

I truly enjoyed A Heart’s Rebellion. London society and all of the trappings that make regency reads enjoyable are present in this book. The author points to the importance of putting God first in your life. Jessamine had a real problem with blaming God for her disappointments instead of trusting that He would guide her and perhaps had a better plan for her than she could envision. The romance blooming between the main characters was sweet and satisfying and I loved the way the author ties up everything at the end of the story with a big romantic “bow” on it. Such a delightful read! (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of A Heart’s Rebellion from Baker Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Ruth-Axtell-2-221x300

I discovered I enjoyed writing when my seventh-grade English teacher assigned our class to finish a story that began with one sentence, a “once upon a time” premise. My version ended up being a romance, and what amazed me most was when someone turned to me after my story was read aloud and told me how much she liked it.

I then went on to write a spy thriller—complete with my own illustrations—and knew I wanted to be a writer.

There were many detours along the way as I pursued more realistic goals. I studied comparative literature at Smith College, where I received a Bachelor’s degree; I spent my junior year in Paris; taught English and lived as an au pair in the Canary Islands; and worked in international development in Miami, Florida. It was there I met my future husband, a Dutchman from Suriname, who took me to the Netherlands to live for six years.

In Holland I began my life as a stay-at-home mom. For the first time in my life I was able to seriously pursue my dream of writing full-length historicals. During my six years there, I completed three manuscripts. The second one gained recognition when it was a finalist in the Romance Writers of America Golden Heart Contest in 1994.

We moved back to the U.S., to the down east coast of Maine to a small village where I had spent childhood summers.

Maine has been a place of discovery—from discerning the varying faces of the sea and likening them to the color of my current hero or heroine’s eyes, to observing the changing seasons and the wonders of a flower or leaf or icicle, to simply learning how to say, “yes, Lord,” when I hear His still, small voice.

You can connect with Ruth on her website, blog, and Facebook.

18059979

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: A Heart’s Rebellion (London Encounters #2) by Ruth Axtell

  1. jamielynne82 says:

    I’m about a third in! Excited to see how it progresses 🙂

  2. Hi, Brittany. I read “A Heart’s Rebellion” over the weekend and loved it. I had no idea that “Moonlight Masquerade” was Rees and Celine’s story. I want to read it now. I’m anxious to know why Celine was able to be such an empathetic character. Thanks for whetting my appetite for another of Ruth Axtell’s Regencies!

Leave a Reply

