Review: Sixty Acres and a Bride (Ladies of Caldwell County #1) by Regina Jennings

I want to start by saying that I am so excited about Regina Jennings’ newest Ladies of Caldwell County book, Caught in the Middle, that will soon be releasing! I thought it would be fun to post reviews of the first two books in the series and spread that excitement around 🙂

So, today I am reviewing Sixty Acres and a Bride, which is book one in the series.

11547862 Sixty Acres and a Bride is a wonderful read! It is set in post-Civil War Texas in 1878. It is a retelling of the story of Ruth, which happens to be one of my favorite Bible stories. So, this book was very hard for me to set down. I read it quickly and loved it from the very beginning.

Rosa is a young Mexican widow who has traveled to Texas with her widowed mother-in-law, Louise. Rosa and Louise have a hard road ahead of them as they try to save the family farm, which has back taxes due. Rosa carries many burdens and much guilt. It is through her in-laws that she came to know Jesus. She feels so very indebted to Louise. Rosa was a sweet character that I was occasionally frustrated with, but it was only because she made things harder on herself than they had to be due to fears she carried around.

Weston Garner makes a great “Boaz”. He has a good heart and always tries to be there for his extended family, helping them as they need it. When Weston helps Rosa in order to try to save both her reputation and the family farm, it brings a whole new set of complications for these two people who are so perfect for each other, but so weighed down with baggage from their first marriages!

This book is full of interesting characters and is such a good story. I highly recommend this fun, yet heartfelt book. (5 stars)

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Jennings

Regina Jennings is a graduate of Oklahoma Baptist University with a degree in English and a history minor. She has worked at The Mustang News and First Baptist Church of Mustang, along with time at the Oklahoma National Stockyards and various livestock shows. She now lives outside Oklahoma City with her husband and four children.

You can connect with Regina on her website, blog, Facebook, Goodreads, Pinterest and Twitter.

Check out Regina’s great bio on her website here.

11547862

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Sixty Acres and a Bride (Ladies of Caldwell County #1) by Regina Jennings

  1. Virgina says:

    I loved reading this book! and I can’t wait for her next one,Caught in the Middle as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

