Review and Giveaway: An Amish Garden

by Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, Tricia Goyer and Vannetta Chapman

18104070 For an Amish fiction lover like me, this book has it all! It is a collection of four novellas by some of my favorite authors. All of the stories stand independently from each other and since they are novellas, they are faster reads than a standard length novel. However, all four stories are very full and well-developed. I connected with the characters in each of the stories and felt invested in how things would turn out for them.

In each novella, a garden is central to the storyline. The themes of hope and healing, and learning to let go and trust in God completely are woven with sweet romantic stories to make for a very enjoyable collection. I truly enjoyed every single story.

In Rooted in Love by Beth Wiseman, we meet Rosemary and learn of the struggles that she has faced over the past five years. She has a lot of heartache, inadequacy and some jealousy that she struggles with daily. A decision she made five years earlier still haunts her. When the man she gave up a relationship with years earlier ends up at her home, helping replant a long abandoned garden, Rosemary must decide whether she is going to truly trust God with her future.

In Flowers for Rachel by Kathleen Fuller, we meet Rachel and Gideon and watch them struggle to understand what the other one feels. Rachel also battles with feelings of worry for her grandfather and she tries hard to keep him safe and healthy. When tragedy strikes her garden, which is her place of refuge and source of income, it is hard to open up and trust Gideon to help her rebuild. Will two shy people be able to find love together and trust God in the process?

In Seeds of Love by Tricia Goyer, Sadie is in a lot of pain after the death of her parents. The garden she begins to plant and tend with her friend, Eli, is a place that she feels connected to her recently deceased mother. Sadie is such an overly-emotional character (understandable after what she has endured)! This was all tied to her loss and the fact that life frequently overwhelmed her. This novella touches on letting go and being willing to trust God with the outcome.

In Where Healing Blooms by Vannetta Chapman, Emma is a widow living with her elderly mother-in-law. Life has been hard the past year, but change soon comes in the form of people in need of shelter and a caring heart. This novella left me with a very peaceful feeling. There is a sweet romance, a rebirth of love, and the overwhelming feeling of hope for the future and healing to be found.

This is a wonderful collection of Amish novellas and I highly recommend it. (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of An Amish Garden in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

Connect with the authors:

Beth Wiseman
Beth Wiseman You can connect with Beth on her website, Facebook and Twitter.

Kathleen Fuller
Kathleen Fuller You can connect with Kathleen on her website.

Tricia Goyer
Tricia Goyer You can connect with Tricia on her website, blog,
Facebook, Pinterest, and Twitter.

Vannetta Chapman
vannetta-headshot You can connect with Vannetta on her website, blog, Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter and Goodreads.

GIVEAWAY!!!

Today I am so excited to let you guys know that Vannetta Chapman is giving away a copy of An Amish Garden to one blessed commenter here on Britt Reads Fiction!

Please comment to enter:
Do you keep a garden? Three of my children desperately want a garden and this mom has never had a green thumb! I am working to try to figure out how to put together some gardening areas for the kids. One wants to grow her own vegetables and fruits and two want beautiful flowers…we’ll see!!!

Entry rules:
1) Due to mailing costs, U.S. entries only please.
2) You must comment to be entered in the drawing. Please provide an email address in a safe format such as: name(at)yahoo(dot)com, for example.
3) Contest begins on 3/22/2014 and ends on 3/28/2014. Winners name will be posted on 3/29/2014 and winner will be contacted by email. If you are the winner, you have 1 week to contact me or I will draw a new name.

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Review and Giveaway: An Amish Garden

  1. Judy B says:

    I love Amish fiction! Four Amish fiction authors in one book?! How cool is that? An Amish Garden is on my wish list. I can’t wait to read it. It has been my joy and pleasure to have met in person two of these authors. Vannetta Chapman, I have met twice. She is an adorable beautiful person and is so nice. Tricia Goyer is also an adorable beautiful person and is so nice. Both of these ladies made me feel I had known them for years. One day, I hope to meet Kathy and Beth in person. That would be great!

    As far as Gardens go, I have given up. I am not successful when it comes to them. No green thumb! I love fresh garden produce and enjoy stopping at roadside stands to purchase some each year.

    Thank you Brittany for your great review and thank you Vannetta for your generous giveaway!

    Blessings!
    Judy B judyjohn2004(at)yahoo(dot)com

  2. Wilani Wahl says:

    I Love gardens, but don’t have a green thumb. I especially love flower gardens. I am wanting to read this book. I hope you are having a great weekend.

    wwchildren at gmail dot com

  3. Melanie Backus says:

    Britt, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and this giveaway. With these remarkable writers, this book can be nothing but great! Amish fiction is so enjoyable so a great certainly awaits the winner.

    mauback55 at gmail dot com

  4. wendynewcomb says:

    I would love to win this book! No, I do not have a garden, vegetable or flower, as I don’t have or never have had a green thumb, lol. My son-in-law is going to start one of those hydroponic gardens though, does that count?

    wfnren(at)aol(dot)com

  5. With rocky ground, we have found that “square-foot gardening” has worked well for us. Each of your children could have their little spot to look over. Use like old railroad ties to square in an area the size you would like, and fill with top soil above ground. Add a scarecrow with a floppy hat and you are in business. Even if everything doesn’t grow, the gardeners will enjoy the little green shoots coming up. Adding some sunflowers for the birds nearby, and some bordering marigolds, and you’re set. Have fun! Thank you for your review. Kathleen ~ Lane Hill House
    lanehillhouse[at]centurylink[dot]net

  6. Angie Carroll says:

    I don’t have a garden but my ten year old likes working in gardens and things like that so we are hoping to get started on one!

  7. Emma says:

    I have a garden.I am looking forward to reading An Amish Garden. Thank you for the opportunity to win.I enjoy reading books by Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, Tricia Goyer and Vannetta Chapman.augustlily06(at)aim(dot)com. Have a wonderful weekend.

  8. Shirley Blanchard says:

    I love gardens i love working in my flowers and plants, right now ever things in bloom and so pretty, i would love to win this giveaway thanks
    Shirley B jcisforme@aol.com

  9. Hello Britt. Enjoyed this nice review of each author. Some of my favorite authors so should be very good. I used to help my mother in the garden when I was a child. A very long time ago. LOL
    I have always loved the fresh veggies. My mother, and sisters used to can for winter time, and they grew up and canned too. Something I never wanted to do. Sum of my canning was about two dozen pints of tomatoes. Was easier to freeze them. in later years we moved near my bachelor brother-in-law. He had always grown a large garden and just shared it with some neighbor ladies that always canned some for him.When we moved there my husband helped him and I cooked. My favorite was fresh tomatoes. I could eat them every day of the year. I did try twice to grow some tomatoes in pots on my porch where I live and didn’t do good. And what few grew, the birds got. And I planted flowers a few times in KS. but have had a bad back for many years so hurt too much. Just sent me to the chiropractor each time. Then my knees have been bad for a long time too, where I can’t get down on the. I do wish I could grow some tomatoes and flowers tho. I would sure like to be Vannetta’s winner, I also got to meet her in person and she is a precious lady. Hope get to visit her again sometime. Thanks for a chance to win. Good luck with the kid’s garden spots. Maxie mac262(at)me(dot)com

  10. I would love to win this book! jennismith1983(at)gmail(dot)com.
    I do NOT have a green thumb. I’ve tried plants before–which always die–but I’ve not even attempted a garden. I hope you get better results from your efforts. πŸ™‚

  11. Cindi Altman says:

    Something that might work for you are raised garden beds. They are easy to maintain and they tend to do well in just about any area.
    Thanks for the chance to enter the drawing. cindialtman(at)gmail(dot)com

  12. Sheri says:

    We usually have a small garden because my daughter plays travel ball in the summer and we are gone a lot. I think we will definitely have a bigger garden when we are done with traveling with ball. I love fresh veggies!!

    I would love to win this book…thanks for the chance!!

    Sheri
    hspruitt (at) frontiernet Dot net

  13. Karen G says:

    I have had a small veggie garden every year now for 5 years. Each year I grow different tomatoes along with green/red peppers and Sweet 100 cherry tomatoes. Last year we grew corn for the first time but only got 4 little ears of corn. Will have to try the corn again. We also grew watermelon but didn’t finish eating those because they had way too many seeds. This year a local fire station is having a tomato plant fundraiser and I plan on getting my plants there because they have Amish paste tomatoes. I never heard of them but the name says Amish so I going to try them.
    Would love a chance to win a copy of this book. Thank you for the chance.
    kmgervais(at)nycap(dot)rr(dot)com

  14. Jane squires says:

    Love gardening. Enter please. Jrs362@hotmail.com

  15. Donna says:

    I love Amish fiction, but I don’t like to garden.

  16. Gail Hollingsworth says:

    Our yard is mostly sand and gravel. Our neighborhood was built on a former sand and gravel pit. About the only thing that will grow in our yard is weeds! I have a few flowers planted around my front porch that will come up year after year but we had to have good top soil brought in to accomplish that. My husband said if we ever bought another house (we won’t) he would take a shovel with him and dig before we signed on the dotted line.

  17. Beth C says:

    I have a small yard so I just do flower gardens and can hardly wait to get outside and plant my flowers. We have a neighbor who shares their vegetable garden with us so we are lucky indeed!
    All of the authors are favorite of mine so I know I would thoroughly enjoy this book.
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

  18. susanmsj says:

    I had a very little garden last year and will have one this year. It is not big, but I am enjoying it.
    susanmsj at msn dot com

  19. Pam says:

    These stores sound great and next to working in my garden and flower garden love to read stores about gardening.Please enter me in your contest.Pam pjladybug7749@hotmail.com

  20. susanlulu2013 says:

    No, I don’t have a garden, but when I was growing up, my parents ALWAYS had a garden and all of us 5 kids helped – daily! (planting, weeding, picking, shelling/snapping, and freezing/canning) Up until my late husband’s death, he also had a garden, but he did ALL the work himself! He loved it…….and well, I didn’t! He even did all the cooking!
    I really want this book! It’s on my wishlist. I have read books by the all the authors, and they are GREAT!!!
    susanlulu@yahoo.com

  21. kellysshining says:

    I have a garden of little pots and it is not very impressive. I grow basil and mint. I keep trying to grow tomatoes but so far I have had the worst luck. When I was a child we had a great garden at my parent’s place. We grew corn, lettuce, tomatoes, peppers and green peas. I miss those days. I really need to deeply feed the soil here in AZ. Thank you for sharing this wonderful giveaway.

    KellysShining(at)gmail(dot)com

  22. karenk says:

    thanks for the chance to read this wonderful novella…yes, I keep a flower garden πŸ™‚

  23. I love reading books about the Amish and I love to garden. It’s so theraputic.

  24. lib1lady says:

    Unfortunately, my thumb is black and not green. I would love to have a garden but haven’t had any luck growing one.
    Thanks for entering me in your giveaway.

  25. I have a beautiful little garden in front of my house.

    cnhnovels@rocketmail.com

  26. I would LOVE to win this! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the giveaway! Yes we keep a garden and I also attempt to sprout and grow things in our kitchen window! πŸ™‚ Right now it’s still to chilly for much outside, but we have a hot bed ready to plant and sprout, and I’m attempting to sprout pomegranate seeds at the moment. πŸ™‚ I don’t know if you and your kiddos would be interested but they can also try a mini greenhouse built from cd cases. πŸ™‚ Might be a fun project for you guys.

    Blessings, Amada

    amada_chavez(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

  27. I don’t keep a garden, but my Mom does! It’s so cool to see her get herbs in her front yard! I do have blueberries in my backyard but not sure if that counts as a “garden”! Thanks for the giveaway Vanetta! πŸ™‚
    sylvesternator (at) yahoo (dot) com

  28. Rebecca says:

    I love Amish fiction! πŸ™‚ I never had a garden.
    thereadergirl(at)yahoo(dot)com

  29. Vera Godley says:

    A collection of authors and a garden of fun. πŸ™‚ Would love to enter & win. πŸ™‚
    godleyv [at]yahoo [dot]com

  30. Thank you, Brittany! I appreciate your review!

  31. I love Amish fiction and you guys are some of the best. Would love to win this book. Looking forward to reading it. As for gardens, I have had them in the past but I prefer flowering gardens to vegetable ones…which works out fine as that is my hubby’s favorite. Good luck with yours!

  32. Katie J. says:

    I love Amish fiction and I’ve really been looking forward to reading this book. I would be so excited if I were chosen as the winner.

    I love to garden, and now that spring is here I can’t wait to start planting.

  33. Kay from NY says:

    I love reading Amish books and I have An Amish Garden on my wish list. No, I don’t do gardens…I just eat what my sis-in-law grows in her garden!

    msbookwormlady (at) aol (dot) com

  34. Merry says:

    I dont have a garden or too much of a green thumb. But I am thinking of doing some container gardening this summer. Maybe just some tomatoes or cucumbers.
    marypopmom (at) yahoo (dot) com

  35. Heidi says:

    I so enjoy theses Amish novella collections, and this one sounds wonderful to me since I Iove to garden! Thanks so much for the giveaway!

    colorvibrant at gmail dot com
    http://heidi-reads.blogspot.com

  36. Karen Johnson says:

    I like to garden and I am looking forward to having a garden at our new place, instead of a community garden. When we first did a community garden, people would walk past and help themselves, which was sad for a 5 year old who did not get to actually see many strawberries or tomatoes that he and I grew. I am looking forward to actually being able to plant flowers in the ground this year instead of just pots. The flowers will go along the driveway and the garden with fruits and veggies in the yard.

    crystalwinter88 (at) Hotmail (dot) com

  37. Yes, I do have a garden, but it is only a flower garden. I do love flowers. I have not attempted to start my own vegetable garden because I do not have a green thumb. LOL I tried to grow tomatoes (hanging ones), but the squirrel’s devoured the tomatoes. I think I only harvested 2-3 cherry tomatoes that year. I know I would really enjoy an Amish Garden. I simplty love Amish Fiction. keithkrisjager(at)aol(dot)com
    Blessings,
    kristin j

Leave a Reply

