Review: Murder Simply Brewed (Amish Village Mystery #1) by Vannetta Chapman

18118316 Murder Simply Brewed is one of those books that I just curled up with and dove into the story. Right from the start of the book, the author had me invested in the outcome. I truly cared how things worked out for the characters.

This book is what I would call a cozy little mystery. The characters were interesting, the setting was quaint and there were many questions that need answering. The mystery was a good one and kept me guessing. Nothing too scary, but some twists and turns that I really enjoyed. I also giggled when the author made reference to her Shipshewana mystery series by having Hannah recall that there seemed to be a rash of murders occurring every six months up there, but at least those murders had been solved!

And romance…don’t forget about romance! This book has it and it is sweet. Although the love developed quickly in the story, it still felt reasonable and realistic.

In Murder Simply Brewed we follow two Englischers, Amber and Tate, and two Amish young adults, Hannah and Jesse as they try to piece together clues and figure out if a murder actually occurred. There are many interesting side characters as well, and the Amish Artisan Village that Hannah is the manager at was a great setting for this story.

A very enjoyable aspect about Murder Simply Brewed is that there are two distinct romantic relationships that begin to be established in this first book of the series. One is a relationship between two young adults who are Amish. The other potential relationship is between two people who are past the first blush of young love, a woman and man who are in their forties and fifties. It was a nice touch to see how these characters view life and love from their different perspectives.

I really enjoyed Murder Simply Brewed and am looking forward to reading the future books in this series. (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

vannetta-headshot

The first thing you need to know about me is that I write Fiction full of GRACE. Every plot is different. The characters change. Some of my books are mysteries, others are novellas, and some are romances. But they all are stories of light, hope, and truth. Stories that at least for a moment touch the deepest places in our heart.

Tales that whisper hope. That speak of family and community. That remind us of God and His love.

What do I write? If I had to reduce it to four words, I suppose I’d say I write Fiction full of GRACE.

You can connect with Vannetta on her website, blog, Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter and Goodreads.

18118316

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Murder Simply Brewed (Amish Village Mystery #1) by Vannetta Chapman

  1. Thanks for your review, Brittany!

Leave a Reply

