Review: The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn by Lori Benton

18168221 Having read Lori Benton’s debut novel, Burning Sky, I was very excited to get a chance to review an Advance Reading Copy of The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn. I was not disappointed!

Just as in her debut novel, this story contains beautiful imagery and an amazing depth of historical information woven in such a way that it does not weigh down the story – it enhances it. All of the characters in this book are so well-written, from Tamsen and Jesse, both of whom I immediately liked, to a whole host of secondary characters that are well-developed and interesting in their own right.

This author possesses the ability to craft a story that keeps me guessing and hoping for a happy ending for the main characters, while taking me on such a journey that there are times I wonder how it can possibly all work out. This book has so many twists and turns! There were times that I had to set the book down and take a deep breath because I was so concerned for Jesse and Tamsen! But then, after a while, I couldn’t help myself…I HAD to pick the book up and find out what was next in their journey.

The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn is a wholly enjoyable read, with wonderful romance and danger, as well as an amazing journey back in history for the reader. Throughout it all, the author illustrates the loving hand of God in these characters’ lives, bringing good to those who put their trust in Him. (5 stars)

I received a complimentary Advance Reading Copy of The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Headshot3smbw

Lori Benton was born and raised east of the Appalachian Mountains, surrounded by early American and family history going back to the 1600s. Her novels transport readers to the 18th century, where she brings to life the Colonial and early Federal periods of American history, creating a melting pot of characters drawn from both sides of a turbulent and shifting frontier, brought together in the bonds of God’s transforming grace.

When she isn’t writing, reading, or researching 18th century history, Lori enjoys exploring the mountains with her husband – often scouring the brush for huckleberries, which overflow the freezer and find their way into her signature huckleberry lemon pound cake.

Contact Lori by email:

lori_benton26[at]hotmail[dot]com

Or by snail mail:
Lori Benton
PO Box 5578
Central Point OR 97502

You can also connect with Lori on her blog,
Pinterest, and on Facebook.

The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn is available for pre-order
and will release on April 15, 2014.

http://www.amazon.com/The-Pursuit-Tamsen-Littlejohn-Novel/dp/0307731499/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1395951409&sr=8-1&keywords=the+pursuit+of+tamsen+littlejohn

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn by Lori Benton

  1. Kav says:

    Ohhhhhhh — I’m so looking forward to reading this one. Excited that it will be out soon. Your review makes me want to read it even me.

  2. Pingback: Happy 1 Year Blogaversary to Me!! Let’s Celebrate with Some Giveaways! | Britt Reads Fiction

Leave a Reply

