Review: Rules of Murder (Drew Farthering Mystery #1) by Julianna Deering

16110412 If you are looking for a good mystery, look no further. Rules of Murder, set in the 1930’s, has interesting characters and the murder mystery kept me intrigued throughout. The author did a great job of setting the scene and I truly felt immersed in the time period of this novel. She also kept me guessing until the end of the novel and threw in some twists that were fun.

I enjoyed reading a novel that reminded me of the old 1930’s and 1940’s movies that I used to enjoy watching with my mom (who is a classic movie buff) while growing up. I was really able to connect with Drew and Nick’s dry wit throughout the story. I was also impressed with the way the author handled Drew’s questions and worldview regarding God. He has valid reasons for the way he feels and the way Madeline, the leading lady, responds to his questions is lovely.

If you enjoy a mystery and are looking for a book that is set in a time period that is not written about much in Christian fiction, Rules of Murder is an excellent choice. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series. (4 stars)

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

JuliannaDeeringJulianna Deering (pen name for author DeAnna Julie Dodson) has always been an avid reader and a lover of storytelling, whether on the page, the screen or the stage. This, along with her keen interest in history and her Christian faith, shows in her tales of love, forgiveness and triumph over adversity. A fifth-generation Texan, she makes her home north of Dallas with three spoiled cats and, when not writing, spends her free time quilting, cross stitching and watching NHL hockey. Her new series of Drew Farthering mysteries set in 1930s England debuted with Rules of Murder (Bethany House, 2013) and will be followed by Death by the Book and Murder at the Mikado (Bethany House, 2014). She is represented by Wendy Lawton of the Books & Such Literary Agency (www.booksandsuch.biz).

You can connect with the author on her website, blog, Facebook and Twitter.

16110412

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Rules of Murder (Drew Farthering Mystery #1) by Julianna Deering

  1. Looks like a fun read and I love the time frame too! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

