Review: A Sensible Arrangement (Lone Star Brides #1) by Tracie Peterson

18059816 A Sensible Arrangement is the first book that I have read by Tracie Peterson. I found it to be an easy and smooth read, with interesting characters.

Jake and Marty agree to a marriage of convenience early on in the book and Marty travels from Texas to Colorado as a mail-order bride. There’s a little bit of tension between the two as they get to know each other, but otherwise, they fall into a fairly easygoing friendship. We follow Marty as she learns her duties in high society and tries to find a way to be useful. We watch Jake as he works as a bank manager in very stressful financial times.

Marty was a complicated heroine. I liked her, but there things that really bothered me about her, too. She struggles with a very large personality flaw…she lies. She has a real problem understanding that lies and lies by omission are damaging to others. Marty also has big anger problems toward God. The dialogue between Marty and her ladies maid, Alice, is a wonderful explanation of why bad things happen and what role God plays in that. The author handled this so well. There is also some mystery and danger in this book, especially toward the end.

I have to admit that I expected the book to tie all of the loose ends up, but it didn’t. I feel that this must be in preparation for the next book in the series. I definitely plan to read the rest of the series and I still felt satisfied at the end of the story. Even though there are some questions left unanswered, it is not a cliff hanger ending and I appreciate that! (4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

TraciePeterson

A prolific and bestselling novelist, Tracie Peterson rewards her readers with adventure and romance, highlighted with authentic historical detail. A Sensible Arrangement is her one hundredth novel. Tracie and her family live in Montana.

You can connect with Tracie on her website, Facebook, and her blog.

18059816

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review: A Sensible Arrangement (Lone Star Brides #1) by Tracie Peterson

  1. Rissi says:

    Glad to read a good review of this one. I used to be a huge Tracie Peterson fan but I’ve not “fallen away” from her books. Perhaps this will be the series that gets me back on board. 🙂

    • Brittany says:

      From reading others reviews, they are mixed. Some people loved it and others didn’t think it was as good as previous books. I don’t have any other books of hers to compare to, but enjoyed this one.

  2. If you enjoyed A Sensible Arrangement, you will love the 3rd book of Tracie’s Lone Star Brides series. Enjoy a giveaway put on by her publisher in celebration of “A Matter of Heart”! http://www.traciepetersonbooks.com/contests.html

  3. Pingback: Review: A Moment in Time by Tracie Peterson | Britt Reads Fiction

  4. Pingback: Review: A Matter of Heart by Tracie Peterson | Britt Reads Fiction

Leave a Reply

