Review: The Pelican Bride (Gulf Coast Chronicles #1) by Beth White

18059984 What originally caught my attention about The Pelican Bride was its gorgeous cover! The woman has such a dreamy look in her eyes and it is just downright beautiful. Then, I scanned the book blurb and I knew that I had to read it! It is set in 1704. Genevieve Gaillain and her sister have just arrived in the Louisiana colony. In order to secure passage on the frigate, Pelican, they have both agreed to marry men who have settled in the colony.

Genevieve is a really fascinating character to read about. She is very strong and determined, yet she has a past that is obviously haunting her. She is burdened with guilt and she really worries about her younger sister, who seems not to care a whit about Genevieve! And, oh my goodness, I just love the character of Tristan Lanier. He has survived such horrendous heartache and yet he is such a strong and good man. His devotion to those he loves is very admirable and makes for a really wonderful hero for the novel.

I had not read any other books set in this time period about this specific part of America’s history and I found it really interesting. I learned so much through this rich and deeply moving story full of such intriguing characters. I loved the romance between the two main characters. It was definitely sigh worthy! This is the first book that I have read by this author and it will definitely not be the last. (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Baker Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Beth White

I grew up in the South, specifically North Mississippi, which has a rich tradition of fostering writers, storytellers, and musicians. I’m fond of both music and literature, so I amuse myself by teaching chorus and piano in an inner-city public high school by day, while conducting a secret life as a romance writer by night.

Anyway, I find myself, after more than half the years I’ve been alive, still married to my last college boyfriend. He still makes me laugh, he still gives me the warm fuzzies, and he still checks my tires, so I guess I’ll keep him. We somewhat successfully raised two young adults, who are both married and have begun producing amazing grandchildren. My cup runneth over.

Anyone who wants to know more about me should read my books and my blog. I am something of a hermit In Real Life, except in the classroom and on my computer, but I am very much interested in what makes my readers tick. And what ticks them off. And what makes them smile. So please email me here. I promise to answer.

You can also connect with Beth on her website, Facebook, Pinterest, and Twitter.

18059984

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review: The Pelican Bride (Gulf Coast Chronicles #1) by Beth White

  1. craftybooksheeps says:

    I’m so glad you liked it! The cover is what drew me to the book too! I have it on my TBR! Thabks for sharing your thoughts with us!

  2. Beth White says:

    Brittany, thanks for such a lovely review! I’m very happy you enjoyed the book and shared about it.

    Warm regards,
    Beth

  3. Pingback: Pelican Bride Reviews Coming In! | Beth White

Leave a Reply

