Review: Meant to Be Mine (A Porter Family Novel #2) by Becky Wade

18144692 Meant to Be Mine is a book that I have been eagerly anticipating since I first heard the premise for the story last year. When I found out that I was going to get a chance to be an early reader and be able to review this book, I was over the moon! And now that I have finished the story, what do I want to do? Well, I want to pick the book up and read it cover to cover again! It really is that good!

Meant to Be Mine is part of Becky Wade’s series about the Porter family. The first book in the series is Undeniably Yours and is also a wonderful book. It was so fun to get to see Bo and Meg Porter make appearances in Meant to Be Mine. However, if you have not read Undeniably Yours, you will not have any problem reading Meant to Be Mine. It can definitely stand alone.

I am not exaggerating when I say that this is one of the best books that I have read this year. I could hardly set this book down once I started reading. What’s not to love? A hasty marriage, a broken heart, a secret child, and that is only the beginning! Ty and Celia just wiggled their way into my heart and I had to know what happened next in the story! Meant to Be Mine is a story of forgiveness and of learning to trust again, wrapped up in a neat package that has plenty of heartache, new beginnings, and a romance that will please the most romantic at heart.

Both of these characters have a lot to forgive the other one for. Celia really struggles with forgiving Ty because she has been hurt so deeply and fears that she can’t ever trust him again. He truly broke her heart. Ty has regretted the way he treated Celia ever since the fateful morning after their whirlwind wedding. His actions have impacted him through the years and he feels very unworthy of Celia.

If you love romance, Meant to Be Mine is a great choice and I highly recommend it. If I could give it more than five stars, I would! (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author, through Bethany House Publishers, in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR (Plus a short Q&A about Becky’s latest release, Meant to Be Mine):

BeckyWade

Becky’s a California native who attended Baylor University, met a Texas boy, and settled in Dallas. She published historical romances for the ABA, then put her career on hold for several years to care for her three children. When God called her back to writing, Becky knew He meant for her to turn her attention to Christian fiction. She loves writing funny, modern, and inspirational contemporary romance! Her CBA debut, My Stubborn Heart, was a finalist in both the RITA and INSPY awards. Undeniably Yours kicked off her Texas-set Porter Family series. Her newest contemporary romance, Meant to Be Mine, has just hit shelves!

Q&A:

What is the inspiration behind Meant to Be Mine?

I was inspired by a classic romance novel storyline known as the “Secret Baby”. In the case of Meant to Be Mine, Ty and Celia get married in Las Vegas at the spur of the moment (after dating one another for four days). They realize the next morning that the wedding wasn’t such a good idea and they part ways. The story picks up five and a half years later, when Ty tracks Celia down in order to inquire about a divorce. What he discovers? Celia has a daughter — his daughter — that she’s kept a secret from him.

Secret baby plot lines never fail to capture my interest! I’m always so eager for the father to discover the baby and then to watch the characters navigate the drama that follows. I’ve wanted for some time to try my hand at this sort of story and am extremely glad to have been given the chance.

What did you enjoy most about writing this story?

The banter! Ty is the funniest, most charming, and most confident hero I’ve written so far. When I put Celia into scenes with him I realized right away that she was going to have to be even spunkier than I’d originally realized. I had a ball writing the dialogue between the two of them. There were times when I could hardly type fast enough.

What was the greatest struggle you faced with Meant to Be Mine?

Revisions. The first time out of the gate with Meant to Be Mine I made a rookie mistake for a romance writer. I didn’t give the hero enough romantic conflict. My editors quickly spotted the problem (plus several others) and I spent an entire summer rewriting the book. Thank God for good editors. Their advice isn’t always easy to hear, but it’s invaluable to receive.

What I learned: Some books simply come together more quickly and easily than others. That doesn’t mean that as the author you end up loving the end product any more or less.

What I learned again for the thousandth time: this business is humbling.

What is the theme of Meant to Be Mine?

From the beginning, before I’d written page one, I knew that Meant to Be Mine would be about forgiveness.

How was the title chosen?

Funny you should ask! When I was brainstorming titles for Undeniably Yours, I came up with Meant to Be Mine. I liked it so much, that I used it as the book’s working title and submitted Bo and Meg’s story to my editors with that title. As it happened, my first book was called My Stubborn Heart and the team at Bethany House felt that the ‘Mine’ in Meant to Be Mine was too similar to the ‘My’ in My Stubborn Heart. They asked for a list of additional title ideas and Undeniably Yours was one of the ones I submitted.

When it came time to settle on a title for Ty and Celia’s story, I resubmitted Meant to Be Mine because I still liked it and because I felt that it suited this novel just as well as the previous novel. The second time around, they liked it!

You can connect with Becky on her website, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, and Pinterest.

http://www.amazon.com/Meant-Mine-Porter-Family-Novel-ebook/dp/B00GHXRQ0Q/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1398791708&sr=8-1&keywords=meant+to+be+mine

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: Meant to Be Mine (A Porter Family Novel #2) by Becky Wade

  1. Carole says:

    I’ve been looking forward to reading & reviewing this book, Brittany, but now I’m beyond excited! Love your thoughts so much.

  2. Gail Hollingsworth says:

    I’ve just started reading it and I love it so far. I really enjoy books that hold my attention enough that I can finish them in a day or two.

Leave a Reply

