Review: Death by the Book (A Drew Farthering Mystery #2) by Julianna Deering

18008076 Death by the Book is the second book in the Drew Farthering Mystery series by Julianna Deering. While you could probably read this book as a stand alone, I think your reading experience would be greatly enhanced by having read the first book of the series, Rules of Murder.

Once again, we follow Drew Farthering, amateur sleuth, as he and his friends try to solve a string of murders. And I just have to say that the first page of this book was one of the best I have read all year! It made me laugh out loud and I immediately read it to my husband, who also thought it was a great start to a book.

I love the characters in this series. Drew and Madeline have a sweet romance and Drew is so patient with Madeline as she tries to decide whether to agree to marriage. Nick is a great side kick and a loyal friend. I enjoyed the return of Chief Inspector Birdsong. His witty dialogues with Drew are great. I even grew to love Aunt Ruth by the end (and I really didn’t like her in the beginning)! I also love the setting of the early 1930’s.

The author kept me guessing till the very end of the book as to who the murderer was. There were so many victims and a very creative killer. Following the clues with Drew is exciting and never dull and I so look forward to reading the third book in this series.
(5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author, through The Book Club Network, in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

JuliannaDeering

Julianna Deering (pen name for author DeAnna Julie Dodson) has always been an avid reader and a lover of storytelling, whether on the page, the screen or the stage. This, along with her keen interest in history and her Christian faith, shows in her tales of love, forgiveness and triumph over adversity. A fifth-generation Texan, she makes her home north of Dallas with three spoiled cats and, when not writing, spends her free time quilting, cross stitching and watching NHL hockey. Her new series of Drew Farthering mysteries set in 1930s England debuted with Rules of Murder (Bethany House, 2013) and will be followed by Death by the Book and Murder at the Mikado (Bethany House, 2014). She is represented by Wendy Lawton of the Books & Such Literary Agency (www.booksandsuch.biz).

You can connect with the author on her website, blog, Facebook and Twitter: @deannajuldodson.

18008076

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

