Review: To Die Once by Miranda A. Uyeh

21806504 To Die Once is the debut novel by Miranda A. Uyeh and the first book in her Child of Grace series.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Two men, one woman, a rosebush …

… a terrible past, an uncertain future
Jennifer, a woman unexpectedly trapped in a path of love and passion against everything she believes.
Rodrigo, a man set to get what he wants at the cost of what matters most.
Stefano, a man with a past, a story to tell and passion to offer.
Chidi, a friend in need, a friend indeed. Or not?
From a culture where good girls follow the norm and live as they’ve been told, Jennifer is no different from any other girl until by happenstance, she meets and falls in love with Rodrigo, a man who’s handsome, rich and foreign. Different. She has no idea who he is or what he does, and is swept into a world of romance and passion. It is not long before she discovers a shocking truth that shakes both her world and his.
Then he is gone.
Stefano shows up at a time when Jennifer has made up her mind about the rules of life. He thinks she’s beautiful and is in love with her. In a bid to convince her to give him a chance in her life, old memories once buried are brought to life. And the events that follow don’t leave anyone unaffected by the truth of the past that was left unsettled.
Meanwhile, Jennifer with her friend Chidi, find themselves on a self-discovery journey that has one of them raising questions.
Some just have to ask, where is God in all this?

… an inspirational romance, from Lagos to Italy.

MY THOUGHTS:

I have to admit that To Die Once started out kind of slowly for me. I did almost stall out while reading this book a couple of times toward the beginning of the book. But, I can then say that I am very glad that I persevered and kept reading because the book took a very dramatic turn and became really interesting! The writing is very good and the storyline is definitely unique. The characters are interesting and there are some big plot twists that add a lot of excitement to the last portion of the book.

There is a lot of reflecting on life, circumstances, God, past hurts, and love from the main characters. This reflection is what was a little slow for me in parts of the book. I also had trouble really liking the main characters for the first portion of the book. I didn’t dislike them, just felt that I was not really invested in them. But, like I said earlier, I am glad I continued to read, because by the end of the book, the characters were very important to me. (This book ranged from a 3 to 4 star rating for me. With the exciting second half of the book, it bumped it up to 4 stars for me by the end).

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

MirandaUyeh

Miranda A. Uyeh is an assistant lecturer at a local college in Makurdi City, Nigeria, where she teaches two geology courses. Her love for books goes as far back as when her father placed Disney’s Rapunzel in her hands—her very first storybook! By the time she was thirteen she knew she was going to be a writer. You can find Miranda on her blog where she shares her love for books, entertainment and Christian spirituality with her readers. Miranda holds a B.Tech (Hons) in Applied Geology from ATBU, Nigeria. To Die Once is her debut novel, #1 of the Child of Grace book series.

Miranda can be found on her Blog, Facebook, Goodreads, Google+, Pinterest, and Twitter. Keep up with Miranda and the Child of Grace series here.

http://www.amazon.com/Die-Once-Child-Grace-Series-ebook/dp/B00K2FM71I/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1399407013&sr=8-1&keywords=to+die+once+uyeh

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: To Die Once by Miranda A. Uyeh

  1. Good, honest review. And considering it is her first novel, I think she did good according to your review. Especially since the last half got much better.
    Debbie

  2. Shannah says:

    I agree with your review! There were parts of the book that were slow for me, and I didn’t feel invested in it until about a third of the way through. I am so glad I finished the book, though, because it was fantastic!

Leave a Reply

