Review: A Home for My Heart by Anne Mateer

17350821 A Home for My Heart is a sweet story of a woman who loves children and wants to make sure that they are cared for, even when their parents may be unable to provide that care anymore. Sadie grew up in the Raystown Home for Orphan and Friendless Children. Now she has accepted the title of matron, and all of the responsibilities that come with the position. One of the hardest tasks to attend to is the mending of her broken heart. As long as Sadie is matron, she can not marry her long-time sweetheart. Will Blaine be able to forgive Sadie for choosing the Home over him?

This book was easy to read and the love that Sadie had for the children really shined through. She made a hard choice and many times I felt that she was trying to solve things on her own strength rather than relying on God to carry her through. It was a lesson she had to learn. I also found it interesting to read this book completely through her point of view. Since I only saw things through Sadie’s eyes, I found myself worried about Blaine’s actions and intentions toward Viola, a young woman in the book. This is good book that left me with a hopeful feeling at the end. (4 stars)

I won a copy of A Home for My Heart through a Book Banter with the author.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

annepic

While I have been writing for what feels like my whole life, I began seriously studying the craft in 2000. Since then I have completed five novels, had several pieces published in local periodicals, attended six writing conferences and managed to final in ACFW’s Genesis contest in 2006, 2008, and 2009. I currently have three historical novels published: Wings of a Dream, At Every Turn, and A Home for My Heart. Playing by Heart will release in the fall of 2014. But writing is only a piece of my life.

I am mostly just a woman trying to live her life in a manner pleasing to the Lord. That involves being a wife to Jeff and a mother to my three teenagers–neither role coming easily but both roles stretching me, requiring me to press in closer to Jesus. And because of this, Jesus has taken an insecure, fearful, sometimes angry girl and is turning her into a more trusting, peaceful, grace-filled woman. At least some of the time. There is still such a long way to go!

You can connect with Anne on her website, Twitter, Facebook, and Pinterest.

At the time of this review (5/8/2014), the Kindle version of A Home for My Heart is on sale for $1.99!

http://www.amazon.com/Home-My-Heart-Anne-Mateer-ebook/dp/B00CIUJYKM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1399580825&sr=8-1&keywords=a+home+for+my+heart

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

