Review: A May Bride (A Year of Weddings #6) by Meg Moseley

18626241 This was a cute little wedding story that is a fast read. There were some things that frustrated me and things that I really liked. But this novella is definitely interesting and the writing kept me focused all the way to the end.

The way that Ellie and Gray met was fun, as was the fact that they had been admiring each other from afar for awhile. Ellie’s mother’s very judgmental attitude and the paranoia that she lived with and the way she spoke to her daughters made her an extremely unlikeable character to me. Those scenes that she was in were very painful to read. By the end of the book I was ready for Ellie to just drop her from her life! That is how much she bothered me.

I don’t want to give away the plot at all, so I will just say that Ellie and Gray had some major issues come up between them and they sure didn’t handle them well. Gray’s reactions to certain events seemed sulky and left me frustrated. Ellie seemed to have to bend to most everyone throughout the novella. I do feel that it was a romantic ending and that the author did pull everything together in a sweet way. I do think it is a fine addition to the series, just not my personal favorite. (3 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this novella from the publisher, through NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

MEG_MOSELEY-medium

Although I’ve lived more than half my life in other states, I grew up in California and am still a California girl at heart. I love vintage bungalows, twisted oaks on rolling hills, and the rocky beaches of the Central Coast.

A few blocks away from home stood the Lutheran church where I came to faith, first through Sunday School teachers whose kindness drew me to the kindness of God, and then through confirmation classes. The Bible verses that had been drilled into my head came to life in my heart.

After moving away from home as a teenager, I worked at a variety of jobs, from candlemaker in a tourist town to administrative assistant at a Christian college. I married a wonderful man from Michigan, and we lived north of Detroit for seventeen years. That’s where we started homeschooling our three children, a journey that we finished in Georgia when our youngest graduated from high school in 2009.

My husband and I live near Atlanta, close to the foothills of the Southern Appalachians. His motorcycle often carries us to the mountains of Georgia, Tennessee, or the Carolinas. Sitting on the back of the bike, I can pray, enjoy the beautiful views, and plot new stories. Fiction makes my world go ‘round, whether I’m writing it or reading it.

You can connect with Meg on her website, her blog, Facebook, and Twitter.

http://www.amazon.com/May-Bride-Year-Weddings-Novella-ebook/dp/B00DQURKG8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1399942477&sr=8-1&keywords=a+may+bride

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

