Review: One More Last Chance (A Place to Call Home #2) by Cathleen Armstrong

18637164 I recently read Welcome to Last Chance and fell in love with the small town and the people of Last Chance, New Mexico. So, I was very excited to read the second book in the series. I was not disappointed. If you have not read the first book in the series, don’t worry, you won’t be lost. One More Last Chance can definitely stand alone. But I am glad I have read both books. Each one is very good.

In One More Last Chance, Sarah Cooley has come home after college and is ready to start her teaching career. She is looking forward to things being the same in her small home town. She is very resistant to change. Chris Reed is new to Last Chance. He has purchased the town’s diner and hopes to make changes that will put the eatery on the map.

I enjoyed reading about Sarah’s growth in this book. She has to realize that life is always full of change, and that it is not necessarily a bad thing. She also has big relationship decisions to make. I found Sarah to be a very interesting character. She is strong in many ways, but she struggles with knowing her own heart’s desires.

Chris is a wonderful character. He is so caring and loving toward his niece, and even toward his wayward sister. He is able to be firm about things with his sister, without being cruel. I really enjoyed watching Chris become a vital part of this small town. He shows incredible patience toward Sarah as she tries to discern God’s plan for her life. One More Last Chance was a very enjoyable book to read and I really look forward to the next in the series. (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Baker Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Cathleen-Armstrong-II-199x300

Cathleen Armstrong is the author of Welcome to Last Chance, winner of the ACFW Genesis Award for Women’s Fiction in 2009 and the first volume in the series “A Place to Call Home.” She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband, Ed, and their corgi, but her roots remain deep in New Mexico where she grew up and where much of her family still lives.

You can connect with Cathleen on her website, Goodreads, Facebook, & Twitter.

http://www.amazon.com/More-Last-Chance-Place-Call-ebook/dp/B00GHXREJE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1400184172&sr=8-1&keywords=one+more+last+chance

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

