Review: No Substitute by Susan Diane Johnson

16125966 No Substitute is a sweet story about past hurts and taking hold of the chance to forgive and be forgiven. I found this book to be very enjoyable and easy to read. All of the characters were well-written and interesting, and the main characters had some big issues in their past to work through before any future together could be possible.

Amy Welsh carries around a lot of emotional baggage and old hurts from when she lost her first love, Quentin, to another girl. Seventeen years later, she still doesn’t understand what went wrong and has never been able to move on to loving anyone else. Quentin feels horrible about how things ended years ago, but also has hope that there could be a chance to find love with Amy again.

I would definitely recommend this book to fans of Christian contemporary fiction. The romance is sweet, the characters are likeable, and it is a satisfying read. (4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher, through The Book Club Network, in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

SusanDianeJohnsonphoto1

I live on an island in Northwest Washington where I love to write novels that I hope will bring joy and uplift the hearts of readers. I am married and have one grown son.

My first two novels, No Substitute and True North, are published by The Pelican Book Group. Sweet Mountain Music, my third novel is historical, set in 1896 in the Cascade Mountains, and will be published this May by WhiteFire Publishing.

I love to travel and see new places – especially by train. My favorite destinations are Victoria, B.C.; Williamsburg, Virginia; Disneyland; and Avila Beach in California. I love to read, write, go to baseball games, and ride roller coasters with my son. I am a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and Romance Writers of America.

You can find me on Inkwell Inspirations, a daily Christian Women’s blog where I am a regular contributor. You can also find me on my personal blog, Suzie’s Writing Place where I share my faith, my writing, and my love for books. I’m also on Facebook and Pinterest where I can explore my love of beautiful historical clothing, the South of France, beaches, and a few television shows that I love way too much.

16125966

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: No Substitute by Susan Diane Johnson

  1. Thank you so much for your kind review, Brittany. And also for taking the time to share about my book. I appreciate it so much.

Leave a Reply

