Review: Captured by Love by Jody Hedlund

18651927 Right from the start, the author drew me into this wonderful story. I was reminded, once again, of how much I love reading Jody Hedlund’s books. From the very first page, as Angelique MacKenzie is walking through a wooded path, I felt like I was there with her…immersed in her world.

The characters were so well-written. Angelique is an honorable young woman trying her best amidst very trying circumstances. I love the caring heart she has, even when she has been so ill-treated by her guardian for so many years. And then there is Pierre. He is a great character, as well. He has had a real change of heart and is not the same angry young man who left the island years ago. He has given himself over to the Lord, and is trying to set things from his past right. However, he didn’t expect to fall for the girl he grew up with, and certainly didn’t expect circumstances to be so dire back at home.

Pierre and Angelique are characters who must discover for themselves what true faith in God is, and learn to trust that He really is there for them and will never forsake them. Set in the turbulent time of the British occupation of Michilimackinac Island during the War of 1812, this book was a page turner for me. I had trouble putting it down because I just had to know what happened next in the story! There is just so much to this book – danger, intrigue, and love. The romance between Pierre and Angelique is beautiful, while choices that they both must make had my heart feeling as if it was being wrenched to and fro! Captured by Love captured my heart and would not let go. I highly recommend this book. (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

JodyHedlund

Jody has written novels for the last 20 years (with a hiatus when her children were young). After many years of writing and honing her skills, she finally garnered national attention with her double final in the Genesis Contest, a fiction-writing contest for unpublished writers through ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers). Her first published book, The Preacher’s Bride (2010 Bethany House Publishers), became a best seller and has won multiple awards. Since then she’s gone on to publish numerous best-selling and award-winning books.

You can connect with Jody and learn more about her writing journey by visiting her website, her blog, Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.

http://www.amazon.com/Captured-Love-Michigan-Brides-Collection-ebook/dp/B00GHXRQZ6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1405192129&sr=8-1&keywords=captured+by+love

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Captured by Love by Jody Hedlund

  1. I loved this book. Didn’t think I’d like something from 1814 but it was really wonderful. Couldn’t put it down!!

Leave a Reply

