Review: A Match of Wits by Jen Turano

18651945 A Match of Wits is the fourth book in The Ladies of Distinction series by Jen Turano. There is also a connected novella that goes with the series. I have read books two, three, and now four in the series and have to say that it has been a fun ride! This author knows how to make characters a little zany, but likeable at the same time.

I have long awaited A Match of Wits, because I really, really, really wanted to find out how Zayne Beckett and Agatha Watson were going to get together. Zayne was one of those characters throughout the other books that really captured my interest and I just could not figure out why he preferred Helena over Agatha. All is explained splendidly in this fun tale.

Agatha is a determined and very capable character. I really enjoyed how strong she was. Yes, she truly did end up in many bad situations…the heroines of these stories seem prone to that! But, most of the time, the unfortunate circumstances are not necessarily her fault.

Not sure how I feel about the pig…not going into more details than that. Sometimes I really laughed at her antics and sometimes not. But, I do think she provided some great comic relief…so maybe I will say that I am favorable toward the pig!

I love how we get to visit with the characters from the previous stories in these books. I’m quite attached to them all, I must say, and seeing them again is loads of fun. If you like to laugh while you read, then try Jen Turano’s books out. They are fun, yet always have some deep truths and very interesting storylines. (4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

IMG_1635A4-150x150

Jen Turano is the critically acclaimed author of The Ladies of Distinction Series, published through Bethany House. Her novel, A Most Peculiar Circumstance, was chosen by Booklist as a Top Ten Romance for 2013.

Jen grew up in St. Clairsville, Ohio, a small city bordering Wheeling, WVA. Her childhood was idyllic and she spent many an hour ice-skating on a little pond, playing with friends in her treehouse, boating at the lake, and reading under the shade of numerous trees. High School, surprisingly enough, was fabulous. She roamed the halls with eight wonderful girls, all of whom she’s still friends with to this day. Student Council took up much of her time as she was Secretary of her class all four years, Vice-President of Student Council her junior year and President her senior year. After High School, she began her next great adventure – College. Pursuing a degree in Clothing & Textiles, Jen was a member of Alpha Phi sorority. She left college after the required four years and set out to take the fashion world by storm, finding out that fashion wasn’t nearly as glamorous as she’d been led to believe.

Meeting her husband, Al, when she was working at a department store in upstate New York, she married him mere months after they’d met, to everyone’s concern. Twenty-something years later, she and Al are still going strong, proving the concern was all for naught. Her son, Dominic, was born after she’d been married for quite some time, and it was then she decided to hang up her heels and settle into the best job of her life – Mom.

Her writing career began rather oddly, right when Dominic was in the third grade. Disgusted with a series they’d been reading together, Jen and her son set about writing a book of their own. It was a strange story, filled with smelly beasts who had a propensity for eating children, or at least wanting to eat them, but Dominic proclaimed it to be perfect and that was all it took for Jen to begin writing in earnest. Her earlier works were met with swift rejections, but when she settled on romance, she managed to snag an agent and she’s been writing romance ever since.

When Jen’s not writing, she spends her time hiking around Colorado, socializing with friends and family, and taking great pride in watching Dominic, who will soon be off to college, turn into a remarkable young man. (For readers of A Change of Fortune – Dominic was the inspiration behind little Ben – which is why you won’t be surprised to learn Jen’s been slightly taken aback over the fact Dominic’s turned out so well.)

You can connect with Jen on her website and Facebook.

http://www.amazon.com/Match-Wits-Ladies-Distinction-Book-ebook/dp/B00GHXRR0K/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1406170099&sr=1-1&keywords=a+match+of+wits

Advertisements

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: A Match of Wits by Jen Turano

  1. D.L. Kamstra says:

    I had started reading the first of Jen Turano’s books awhile ago and had a hard time really getting into it. I think I am going to have to give them a try again. I see so many great reviews for this book in particular!

    • Brittany says:

      Hopefully you will connect with them better the next try. They can be really fun to read. But, you know, there are so many different types of genres and writers out there because certain styles appeal to some and not others. Just the way it is sometimes 🙂

      • D.L. Kamstra says:

        I plan to try them again. I’ve often had better luck with some books when I give them a second try- so hopefully that will be true for these. I was definitely interested in them. But you are right, we all have our own preferences!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s