Review: Hallowed Halls by Hannah Alexander

21440590 I really enjoyed reading Hallowed Halls. It was a very quick read for me, flowing smoothly through an interesting storyline.

My very favorite parts of the book revolved around Dr. Joy Gilbert and Dr. Zach Tyler. There was a lot of good romantic tension between these two doctors, who used to be engaged. Both were hurting from the breakup that occurred nearly a year earlier, but Joy carried around a few extra scars from that time since she never understood what made Zach break things off. There is also a puzzling medical situation for these doctors to solve together that is interesting to read about.

I was very concerned about Joy’s situation with her former employer. This man was used to controlling others, had a lot of anger in him, and felt that he and Joy should be a couple. This added some good tension to the story as well. I was a little surprised by how things ended up working out with him.

Hallowed Halls has many interesting characters in it and does a great job of illustrating what can happen when people are judgmental toward others, rather than seeing that person as a child of God. This point was made many times in the story, in various ways and is an important truth for all of us to remember. I am excited to see that this book looks to be the beginning of a series. (4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

21440590

When Dr. Joy Gilbert is fired from a lucrative position she hates in the city, she returns to her small hometown to find her former fiance single, her once vivacious mother struggling financially and physically, and Tressa, the 15-year-old daughter of the boss who just fired her, popping out of the back door of her car. Tressa refuses to return to the city, where her divorced parents struggle emotionally over the death of their son. When Dr. Zack Tyler sees Joy walk into the ER with the daughter of the man who lured Joy away from him, he’s hesitant, though he’s overjoyed to see her again. Out of compassion, he hires her in the ER so she can support herself and her mother, and their relationship blooms.

Meanwhile, Tressa has blackouts that grow increasingly bad. Joy and Zack rediscover their love for one another as they discover what caused the break-up. Together they work to save Tressa and uncover a rare genetic defect, a mystery that has ravaged decades of Tressa’s family line.

ABOUT THE AUTHORS:

HANNAH ALEXANDER is the pen name for the husband-and-wife writing team of Mel and Cheryl Hodde, who began collaborating on their first blind date. Cheryl is the wordsmith, and Mel is the medical expert who helps her with the medical plotlines and edits everything she writes.

You can connect with the authors on their website and Facebook.

http://www.amazon.com/Hallowed-Halls-Book-ebook/dp/B00MX4C5KO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1411229352&sr=8-1&keywords=hallowed+halls

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Hallowed Halls by Hannah Alexander

  1. I read this too a while back and loved it! After I couldn’t find the book available in my area book stores, the author sent me a copy to read and review.

Leave a Reply

