Review: Redemption by Shelley Shepard Gray

18053100 Redemption is a very unique story that flowed smoothly for me. I read this book quickly, as I do many of Shelley Shepard Gray’s books.

The first thing that caught my attention about Redemption is that it is an Amish book that is set right after the end of the Civil War. I felt invested right away in these characters. I immediately felt sorry for Sarah. She is a war widow. On top of that, she was an abused wife. A very scarred man who claims to be her late husband, Daniel, appears. Sarah really struggles with this. It is hard for her to reconcile this man who is so changed on the outside and the inside, to the cruel husband of her past.

Jonathan Scott is a hero that at first I did not think that I should like. I felt he was taking advantage of Sarah. Although he was kind to her, I questioned the lies he was telling. After a while, I could not help but like him and hope that things would work out for the both of them.

This was an enjoyable story that I believe fans of Amish fiction will enjoy. (4 stars)

ABOUT THE BOOK:

18053100

Amish widow Sarah Ropp lives a quiet, solitary life since losing her husband in the Civil War. That is, until the night she discovers a man in her barn claiming to be Daniel—not killed, only injured. Though horribly burned on his face, he resembles Daniel, and Sarah accepts him hesitantly. After all, who else could he be?

Jonathan Scott has nothing to live for but the memories of a fellow soldier. Daniel Ropp had talked endlessly about his wife, Amish faith—and the money he’d buried near his barn. John only intends to take the money, but when his heart begins to open to this kind woman, suddenly living a lie isn’t so easy.

Though relieved by his safe return, Sarah begins to have doubts about this “new” Daniel. He’s more patient, gentler—nothing like her hard husband. But as her heart reopens to him, she must know the truth. If her doubts are confirmed, will Sarah be able to forgive the deceit and find a second chance at happiness?

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

ShelleyShepardGray

Shelley Shepard Gray is a two-time New York Times bestseller, a two-time USA Today bestseller, a finalist for the American Christian Fiction Writers prestigious Carol Award, and a two-time Holt Medallion winner. She lives in Southern Ohio, where she writes full-time, bakes too much, and can often be found walking her dachshunds on her town’s bike trail.

Find Shelley online: website, Facebook

http://www.amazon.com/Redemption-Shelley-Shepard-Gray-ebook/dp/B00DB3D86G/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1411325662&sr=8-1&keywords=redemption+gray

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

