Review: The Daughter of Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky

21561733 The Daughter of Highland Hall, book two in the Edwardian Brides series, is a novel that I have been eagerly anticipating for more than a year! That is a lot of pressure to put on a story. 🙂 So, did it make the grade? Is it all that the first book, The Governess of Highland Hall, was and more? The answer to these questions is a definite yes! Those who have read book one will enjoy returning to the lives of the characters who endeared themselves to us. However, if you have not read The Governess of Highland Hall, never fear, you will be able to read this book as a stand alone. I do recommend reading book one first as it is a lovely story, and sets the stage nicely for book two.

Katherine “Kate” Ramsey is ready to make her debut in society. With an overbearing aunt as her sponsor, Kate finds herself faced with many rules to follow and high expectations placed upon her to make a “suitable” match. I like Kate and sympathize with the tough choices she has to make. Great emphasis is placed on encouraging wealthy suitors who are members of the upper crust of society.

Jonathan Foster is a medical student with some big decisions on the horizon. He was raised in a missionary family. With three possible options for his future, he is determined to follow God’s leading as to where his talents should be used. His plans don’t include falling for a debutante who appears to value position in society above all else.

I really enjoyed watching Kate grow as she faced the repercussions of a scandal that rocked her family’s place in society. I loved seeing Jon and Kate grow closer together as they worked to help those less fortunate than themselves. Kate grew so much in this book and Jon was a wonderful example to her of a godly man.

The author does such a nice job of writing a story in which the characters must question what things in life are truly of the greatest value. Is it money and status in society, or are there things that are worth much more? I thoroughly enjoyed The Daughter of Highland Hall and I look forward to book three in the series. (5 stars)

My thanks to the author and to WaterBrook Multnomah for the complimentary copy I received in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

There is a Goodreads giveaway for 5 copies of The Daughter of Highland Hall. Click here to enter. Giveaway ends Oct. 6, 2014.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

21561733

Fans of Downton Abbey, Jane Eyre, and Pride & Prejudice will enjoy this pure and inspiring romance taking place in Edwardian England amid a clash of cultures and changing times.

Eighteen-year-old Katherine Ramsey travels to London with her family to make her debut into society and hopefully find her future husband. Her overbearing aunt insists she must secure a proposal from a wealthy young man who is in line to inherit his father’s title and estate. But Katherine questions her aunt’s plans when she gets to know Jonathan Foster, a handsome medical student and strong Christian who is determined to protect the poor and vulnerable in London’s East End. When a family scandal puts a damper on Katherine’s hopes for the season, she has time to volunteer with Jonathan, caring for children in one of London’s poorest areas, and romance blossoms. Katherine’s faith grows and she begins to envision a different future with Jonathan. But when Katherine’s work in the East End puts her in danger, Jonathan distances himself from Katherine to protect her. A wealthy suitor reappears, and Katherine must choose which path to follow.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

CarrieTuransky

Carrie Turansky is the award-winning author of thirteen inspirational romance novels and novellas. She has been a winner of the ACFW Carol Award, the International Digital Award, and the Crystal Globe Award. Her next book will be The Daughter of Highland Hall, releasing 10/07/14. She lives in central New Jersey with her husband, Scott, who is a pastor, author, speaker and counselor. They have five adult children and four grandchildren. Carrie leads women’s ministry at her church, and when she is not writing she enjoys gardening, reading, flower arranging, and cooking healthy meals for friends and family.

You can connect with Carrie on her website, blog, Facebook, Goodreads, Pinterest, and Twitter.

http://www.amazon.com/Daughter-Highland-Hall-Edwardian-Brides-ebook/dp/B00JNQMZ4Q/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1411583484&sr=1-1&keywords=the+daughter+of+highland+hall

Advertisements

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: The Daughter of Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky

  1. Pingback: The Daughter of Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky – Book Release Day and Giveaway Links! | Britt Reads Fiction

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s