Review: The Forgiven Duke by Jamie Carie

12934289 The Forgiven Duke was a very enjoyable story. When I began reading this book, I soon realized that it was book two in a series. I generally try to start from the beginning when I read a series, but occasionally end up in a situation where I have not read a previous book. The author did a good job of catching me up and I followed along just fine in this story.

I really felt invested in these characters. Both Alexandria and Gabriel made decisions based on trying to control their situations. This is a very common, human thing to try to do. Much of the book follows Alexandria and the journey she goes on after making a decision based on fear, rather than trusting and waiting for God’s guidance in her life. Her dealings with Lord John, as a result of her impetuous decision, add great tension to Alexandria’s situation. Gabriel also seems inclined to try to control things. I gather that in the first book he did this even more. But, the need to try to take charge of a situation still guides many of his decisions. I felt for him and the challenges he faced.

Both characters grow a lot in this story. I felt for both of them in the trials they faced and was amazed at all they both had to go through. The middle of the story did drag a bit for me, but after a short while the pace picked up again. The end of the book is not a cliff hanger, but it does leave a few things open that will need to be resolved in book three. I am looking forward to reading it, too. (4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from B&H Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

12934289

Tethered by her impulsive promise to marry Lord John Lemon – the path of least resistance – Alexandria Featherstone sets off toward Iceland in search of her parents with a leaden heart. A glimpse of her guardian, the Duke of St. Easton – the path less traveled by – on Dublin’s shore still haunts her.

Will he come after her? Will he drag her back to London, quelling her mission to rescue her treasure-seeking parents, or might he decide to throw caution to the wind and choose Foy Pour Devoir: “Faith for Duty,” the St. Easton motto. The Featherstone motto Valens et Volens: “Willing and Able,” beats in her heart and thrums through her veins. She will find her parents and find their love, no matter the cost.

The powerful yet wing-clipped Duke of St. Easton has never known the challenge that has become his life since hearing his ward’s name. Alexandria Featherstone will be the life or the death of him. Only time and God’s plan will reveal just how much this man can endure for the prize of love.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

jamie2_small

Jamie Carie is the author of Snow Angel, a ForeWord magazine Romance Book of the Year winner, USA Book News National “Best Books 2007” Awards winner, and 2008 RITA Awards® Best First Book finalist. Her third novel, Wind Dancer, was a 2010 Indiana State Library Best Books of Indiana finalist. She lives with her husband and three children in Indianapolis.

You can connect with Jamie on her website, Facebook, and Twitter.

http://www.amazon.com/Forgiven-Duke-Forgotten-Castles-Novel-ebook/dp/B00892BM9Y/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1411850111&sr=8-1&keywords=the+forgiven+duke

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: The Forgiven Duke by Jamie Carie

  1. craftybooksheeps says:

    I think I would enjoy this series! Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

