Review: Out of the Storm by Jody Hedlund

22464698 What a great start to Jody Hedlund’s upcoming Beacons of Hope series. I thoroughly enjoyed this free novella.

Since it is a novella, I prepared myself for a romance that would move along a bit quicker than in a full-length novel. That was true with this story, but even though the romance moved at a faster pace, I still connected with the characters and felt that things did not move too quickly.

I enjoyed seeing the changes in Henry and Isabelle throughout the novella. Henry began the story as a brash and spoiled man, while Isabelle began the story believing she had no hope of a future. Even Isabelle’s father had a dismal outlook to the future and was overprotective of his only daughter. The changes in these characters was heartwarming and my only complaint is that I wish the book had lasted longer! I would have enjoyed a few more chapters with this couple. I am looking forward to reading the novels in the Beacons of Hope series. (5 stars)

ABOUT THE BOOK:

22464698

Having grown up in a lighthouse, loneliness is all Isabelle Thornton has ever known–and all, she assumes, she ever will know. But when her lightkeeper father rescues a young man from the lake, her sheltered world is turned upside down.

Bestselling author Jody Hedlund’s Out of the Storm is her first ever novella and introduces readers to Beacons of Hope, a new series set in the 1800s amid the romance, history, and danger surrounding the Great Lakes lighthouses of Michigan.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

JodyHedlund

Jody has written novels for the last 20 years (with a hiatus when her children were young). After many years of writing and honing her skills, she finally garnered national attention with her double final in the Genesis Contest, a fiction-writing contest for unpublished writers through ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers). Her first published book, The Preacher’s Bride (2010 Bethany House Publishers), became a best seller and has won multiple awards. Since then she’s gone on to publish numerous best-selling and award-winning books.

You can connect with Jody and learn more about her writing journey by visiting her website, her blog, Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.

http://www.amazon.com/Out-Storm-Beacons-Hope-Novella-ebook/dp/B00NB3LMEG/ref=sr_1_1_twi_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1413583645&sr=8-1&keywords=out+of+the+storm

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Out of the Storm by Jody Hedlund

  1. Thank you for this great review! Looking forward to this new series by Jody Hedlund. Kathleen ~ Lane Hill House

Leave a Reply

