Review: The Fruitcake Challenge by Carrie Fancett Pagels

23261305 The Fruitcake Challenge was such a fun and enjoyable novella! It takes place back in the late 1800’s in a lumber camp near Mackinaw City, Michigan. The author did a great job of crafting a sweet story, set in an interesting time period. The story was full of historic details that made me feel that I was back in time.

I really liked the two main characters, Tom & Jo. The marriage challenge that Tom issues to Jo is a lighthearted thread that runs through the story. There are also misunderstandings and both of these characters must seek the Lord’s guidance and His direction for their lives. This is an uplifting Christmas story that brought a smile to my face. (5 stars)

ABOUT THE BOOK:

23261305

When new lumberjack, Tom Jeffries, tells the camp cook, Jo Christy, that he’ll marry her if she can make a fruitcake, “as good as the one my mother makes,” she rises to the occasion. After all, he’s the handsomest, smartest, and strongest axman her camp-boss father has ever had in his camp—and the cockiest. And she intends to bring this lumberjack down a notch or three by refusing his proposal. The fruitcake wars are on!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

pagels-LR-13

Carrie Fancett Pagels, Ph.D. is an award-winning, best-selling, and multi-published Christian historical romance author. Carrie was a psychologist for twenty-five years. Married for twenty-seven years with two children. Carrie resides in Virginia’s Historic Triangle and enjoys reading, traveling and researching. She’s a finalist for the 2014 Maggie Awards for Excellence.

You can connect with Carrie on her website, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Pinterest, Colonial Quills, & Overcoming With God

http://www.amazon.com/Fruitcake-Challenge-Christmas-Traditions-Book-ebook/dp/B00NG5II28/ref=sr_1_1_twi_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1413913886&sr=8-1&keywords=fruitcake+challenge

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: The Fruitcake Challenge by Carrie Fancett Pagels

  1. Bonnie Roof says:

    Great Brittany – thanks!! Shared post!!

  2. Thanks so much, Brittany! I’m so glad you enjoyed the story. I sure had fun writing The Fruitcake Challenge! I miss hanging out with Jo and Tom! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

