Giveaway: The Fruitcake Challenge by Carrie Fancett Pagels

23261305

ABOUT THE BOOK:

When new lumberjack, Tom Jeffries, tells the camp cook, Jo Christy, that he’ll marry her if she can make a fruitcake, “as good as the one my mother makes,” she rises to the occasion. After all, he’s the handsomest, smartest, and strongest axman her camp-boss father has ever had in his camp—and the cockiest. And she intends to bring this lumberjack down a notch or three by refusing his proposal. The fruitcake wars are on!

MY THOUGHTS:

The Fruitcake Challenge was such a fun and enjoyable novella! It takes place back in the late 1800’s in a lumber camp near Mackinaw City, Michigan. The author did a great job of crafting a sweet story, set in an interesting time period. The story was full of historic details that made me feel that I was back in time.

I really liked the two main characters, Tom & Jo. The marriage challenge that Tom issues to Jo is a lighthearted thread that runs through the story. There are also misunderstandings and both of these characters must seek the Lord’s guidance and His direction for their lives. This is an uplifting Christmas story that brought a smile to my face. (5 stars)

GIVEAWAY!!!

What a treat we have today!

Carrie is giving away an ebook copy of

The Fruitcake Challenge to one commenter here on the blog!

To enter: Comment with your name and email for a chance to win an ebook copy! Do you have a favorite Christmas food? Contest ends October 28, 2014. Winner will be announced on this blog and emailed. They will have a week to respond. 🙂

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Giveaway: The Fruitcake Challenge by Carrie Fancett Pagels

  1. I haven’t gotten to this one yet, but it sounds like fun, and I’m looking forward to reading it!

  2. This book does sound like a fun read. I would love to have it in my little library of good books. 🙂 I can not think of one favorite food because there are so many, but if I had to pick just one, it would be my mom’s jam cake. She only makes it at Christmas.
    Cindy
    cindybazzy at gmail dot com

    • Cindy, I was so happy to see my 36th review last night, another 5 star review, PTL! People are enjoying this story about hope in God. I hope you get to read it. All the stories in the series are only 99 cents each right now. Mine is a 34,000 word novella which is pretty long for novella. Blessings!

  3. Would love to read this, My favorite Christmas food…..anything chocolate 🙂
    lsnljohnson at aol dot com

  4. This book sounds like so much fun! I love anything chocolate but my mom used to make refrigerated fruitcake cookies that were amazing, I think because they were made with sweetened condensed milk! tumcsec(at)gmail(dot)com

    • Oh I want the recipe, Gail!!! We’re having a baking party in November on FB and on my blog! Would love to see you there! Blessings!

      • I am working on getting you that recipe. I will see my mother tomorrow and she is looking for it. It is very rich but very yummy.

      • This is a recipe I got from my mom today.

        Refrigerator fruitcake

        1 can Angel Flake Coconut
        1 can Eagle Brand Milk
        1 large box Vanilla Wafers
        8 oz red candied cherries
        8 oz green candied cherries
        1 qt of pecans, chopped

        Crush vanilla wafers into a fine consistency, this can be done in a food processor or blender. Cut cherries into smaller pieces. Mix crushed vanilla wafers with Eagle Brand Milk. Add coconut, cherries and pecans. Form into a log or rectangle using wax paper, cover and refrigerate. Refrigerate overnight or for several hours then slice and enjoy!

  5. I’ve been chasing this book around the blogs. lol! It looks like such a good read, by a sweet author! I can’t wait to read it! My favorite Christmas food is my grandmother’s yogurt bread. I make a large bundt cake of it for our Christmas breakfast every year. I make a few to give away, too, and it is always well received. Thank you for the review, the giveaway, and the chance to win!
    Blessings!
    Kelly Y
    kelly *at* dkcountryarts *dot* com

  6. Lori P says:

    One of my favorites when I was a child was my grandmother’s carrot cake with lemon sauce. She would cook the cake in a coffee can. She has since passed and no one in the family can get it right. It’s just not the same. Thank you for the giveaway 🙂
    Lori P
    jlipayer (at) charter (dot) net

  7. Rita Navarre says:

    I make a Layered Jello Salad in Christmas colors. Would love to win this book as it sounds like a great read.

  8. Timothy says:

    The Way To A Man’s Heart, Is Through His Stomach ! Very Intriguing Plot Really. Would Be Nice To Read On A Chilly Autumn Day. I Can Only Imagine Jo Rising To The Occasion To Meet This Challenge Head On Full Speed Ahead ! ;-))) Wonderful & Inspiring Christmas Romance Novel, From The Description !

    Best Regards,
    Timothy

    threeeremitesgeohamlet { at } embarqmail { dot } com

  9. fushiacat says:

    My favorite Christmas food is a sweet potato casserole recipe that my aunt made over 20 years ago. My husband & I loved it and have fixed it almost every year since. We have had to modify it as I became gluten intolerant, but it is still wonderful.
    ischu9 (at) aol (dot) com

  10. Hmm, favorite Christmas food… I’d have to say peppermint mochas. 🙂 Thanks for the giveaway!

    Writer_weaverATyahooDOTcom

  11. martyomenko says:

    My favorite Christmas food is raviolis! We make them homemade for Christmas! martha(at)lclink(dot)com

  12. Second one:

    Fruitcake Cookies

    1lb mixed candied fruit
    1/2 cup flour (plain or self-rising)
    Pinch of salt
    1 31/2 oz can coconut
    2 cups chopped pecans
    1 can sweetened condensed milk

    Dredge fruit in flour. Add salt, coconut and nuts. Add milk and mix throughly. Drop by spoonfuls on greased cookie sheet. Bake 25 – 30 minutes in pre-heated 275 degree oven. Store cooled cookies in an airtight container about 5 days before serving. Then enjoy! Makes about 4 dozen.

Leave a Reply

