Review: Miracle in a Dry Season by Sarah Loudin Thomas

18652828 Miracle in a Dry Season is a story I won’t soon forget. It is written in a gentle, yet straightforward way. The author’s writing style made me feel that I was truly back in West Virginia during the 1950’s.

The book is full of interesting characters. Some are accepting of the young mother and daughter who have moved into town, and others have nothing but condemnation for them. I really enjoyed the way that the author revealed things in this story, whether it was revealing past secrets and sins, or exposing judgmental attitudes. It was done well.

The romance is gentle and sweet. Perla and Casewell have plenty of failings, yet they try their best. There are events that can only be explained as miraculous, and the importance of recognizing God’s grace and forgiveness in our lives is clear.

I look forward to reading more books in this Appalachian Blessings series. (4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House, through The Book Club Network, in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

The prequel novella to the Appalachian Blessings series is titled Appalachian Serenade. You can download it for free on Amazon or Barnes and Noble. You can also read my review for Appalachian Serenade here.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

18652828

It’s 1954 and Perla Long’s arrival in the small town of Wise, West Virginia, was supposed to go unnoticed. She just wants a quiet, safe place for her and her daughter, Sadie, where the mistakes of her past can stay hidden. But then drought comes to Wise, and Perla is pulled into the turmoil of a town desperately in need of a miracle.
Casewell Phillips has resigned himself to life as a bachelor…until he meets Perla. She’s everything he’s sought in a woman, but he can’t get past the sense that she’s hiding something. As the drought worsens, Perla’s unique way with food brings both gratitude and condemnation, placing the pair in the middle of a maelstrom of anger and forgiveness, fear and faith.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

SarahLoudinThomas1

Sarah and her husband Jim live in the mountains of Western North Carolina with Thistle–the canine equivalent to a personal trainer pushing them to hike, run, and throw sticks. Sarah is active in her local church and enjoys cooking and–you guessed it–reading.

You can connect with Sarah on her website, Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.

18652828

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Miracle in a Dry Season by Sarah Loudin Thomas

  1. I really enjoyed this book too!

Leave a Reply

