Review & Giveaway: Love Unexpected by Jody Hedlund

20665078 An isolated lighthouse, a small fishing community, a woman without a place to call her own, a motherless child, and a godly man who harbors secrets…this is the recipe for a story that swept me into its pages and kept me enthralled until the very end of the book. If you are a fan of marriage of convenience stories, and I definitely am, then you are in for a huge treat with Love Unexpected. If you are a reader who loves books that are rich in historic detail, then this is the book for you. It is even based loosely on the lives of real people. And if you are a reader who enjoys complex characters, deep questions about God’s love for us and the ability for His grace and mercy to truly change an individual into a new creation, then grab a copy of Love Unexpected. You won’t be disappointed.

I am a big fan of Jody Hedlund’s writing. She creates characters who have a lot of depth. They are not perfect people and they don’t make perfect choices. This is definitely true in Love Unexpected. We, the reader, know that Patrick has an unsavory past, which he has not fully explained to his new wife. Emma also makes some bad decisions based on naivety in choosing who to trust with her concerns about married life.

Another reason I enjoy this author’s writing is that I know she will deliver a truly satisfying love story. Emma and Patrick have things standing between them, but the attraction and love that develops between the two is beautiful. I love their love story! Patrick is a godly man who is able to bring Emma to a better understanding of who God is.
Love Unexpected is a beautiful start to what I am sure will be a great series. (5 stars)

There is also a prequel novella titled Out of the Storm that you can download for free on kindle and nook. It is another lighthouse love story. The characters from the novella are mentioned in this book in reference to an old letter and cross that Patrick has found. Knowing the back story from the novella enriched my experience reading this book. You can read my review of Out of the Storm here.

I would like to express my thanks to the author and publisher for the complimentary copy of this book that I received in exchange for my honest review.

See below for a chance to win your very own copy of Love Unexpected!

ABOUT THE BOOK:

20665078

A Perfect Blend of History and Romance, with a Whisper of Mystery

All she’s ever wanted was a home. But stranded at Presque Isle port after their steamboat sank, Emma Chambers and her brother, Ryan, couldn’t be farther away from security. While Ryan at least can find work, Emma can’t even find a place to stay. An unlikely solution arises when the lighthouse keeper, who recently lost his wife and is struggling to raise his young son, arrives in town. A traveling preacher believes they might be the answer to each others’ problems, and after a hasty marriage, Emma is headed back to the lighthouse with this handsome but quiet stranger.

But nothing in her wandering life has prepared her for suddenly being asked to raise a child and keep a house. Struggling at every turn, Emma also suspects Patrick may be keeping something hidden from her. In town she hears whispers about strange circumstances surrounding his previous wife’s death, and it seems as though Emma’s answered prayer for a home and family may actually be something much more dangerous.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

JodyHedlundnew

Jody Hedlund is an award-winning and bestselling author of inspirational historical romances for both adults and teens.

As a busy mama-writer, she has the wonderful privilege of teaching her crew of 5 children at home. In between grading math papers and giving spelling tests, she occasionally does a load of laundry and washes dishes. When she’s not busy being a mama, you can find her in front of her laptop working on another of her page-turning stories.

She loves reading almost as much as she loves writing, especially when it also involves chocolate and coffee.

You can connect with Jody on her website, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, and Pinterest.

imagesQMUXP2H1

Enter for a chance to win a paperback copy of Love Unexpected.

US residents only due to shipping costs.

To enter, please comment on this blog with your name and email in a non-spam format.  You can earn extra entries by following my blog and sharing about the giveaway. Please let me know if you have done so and I will credit you with extra entries.

Question: Have you ever visited any of the Great Lakes light houses?

Giveaway will run from 12/12/14 – 12/18/14. Winner will be announced on the blog and emailed on 12/19/14. They will have a week to respond to the email or a new winner will be chosen.

http://www.amazon.com/Love-Unexpected-Beacons-Hope-Book-ebook/dp/B00KDN89WK/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1418406760&sr=1-1&keywords=love+unexpected

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Review & Giveaway: Love Unexpected by Jody Hedlund

  1. DK Stevens says:

    *A Perfect Blend of History and Romance, with a Whisper of Mystery
    That is my kind of story 🙂 would love to win a copy…
    dkstevensne AT outlook Dot COm

  2. I have lived in Michigan most of my life, and have gone ‘up north’ many times. The closest I was to a lighthouse was at Whitefish point….I do enjoy looking at lighthouses, and am reminded of the way that God is our beacon when our lives in storms!

  3. Loraine Ertelt says:

    I have not visited any of the Great Lakes Light Houses but have been to several on the west coast. I went to college just a few miles from Cabrillo Lighthouse out on Point Loma in San Diego.

  4. Kelly O. says:

    I haven’t visited the Great Lakes lighthouses but I’m sure they are beautiful. I would love to visit someday!

  5. Hello to Britt and to Jody. Enjoyed the review.The book sounds really good and I would love to win it. I have never visited a Lighthouse. Never even saw one except in a picture. Both of my older daughters are interested in them. one went up the Ease coast to find some after a re-union in Florida in 1909. Please put my name in the drawing Britt. I follow your blog and shared about this con test. Maxie

  6. katie07edgar says:

    I have been to a lighthouse in Duluth on Lake Superior! I want to visit more!
    katie07edgar(at)gmail(dot)com

  7. Sheri Pruitt says:

    I haven’t had a chance to visit any of the Great Lakes lighthouses, but I have visited a very old one on St. Simon’s Island in Georgia. The history at this lighthouse is very interesting. This book is definitely on my TBR list!’

    hspruitt at frontiernet doT net

  8. Jeanie Dannheim says:

    Yes, I have visited a Great Lakes lighthouse several years ago. I do not remember which one. It was not open so we only saw the exterior. It was an easy afternoon turnaround drive from Bay City where I grew up and was home visiting at the time. I would dearly love to see more but haven’t been able to go home for a long time. Would love to read this as I do love novels with rich history, especially back home and all things lighthouse! jeaniedannheim ( at ) ymail ( dot ) com

  9. I haven’t seen those lighthouse’s but recently saw several on a cruise to Nova Scotia!

  10. wendynewcomb says:

    I have visited a lighthouse in St Augustine, FL but never in the Great Lakes area.

    wfnren(at)aol(dot)com

  11. wendynewcomb says:

    I follow your blog.

    wfnren(at)aol(dot)com

  12. wendynewcomb says:

    I shared on Twitter: https://twitter.com/WendyNewcomb/status/543582487734022144

    wfnren(at)aol(dot)com

  13. Maryann says:

    No I have never visited the Michigan lighthouses, but I have seen a lighthouse about an hour from our home once

  14. Cindi Altman says:

    I’ve been to the lighthouse on Lake Erie in Pennsylvania. Very nice fishing pier there, too.
    cindialtman(at)gmail(dot)com

  15. Pam K. says:

    I really enjoy Jody’s books so I get excited when a new one is released. This new series looks really good. I’d love to win Love Unexpected. I’ve never visited any lighthouse.
    I’m a follower of your blog.
    pmkellogg56[at]gmail[dot]com

  16. Question: Have you ever visited any of the Great Lakes light houses? No, I have not. I would love to because the area is so rich in the history of lighthouses. The lighthouse I have gone to and enjoyed is Seven Foot Knoll Lighthouse which is in Baltimore, Maryland. I love the fact that Jody is so thorough in her research in her lighthouse series. Another great thing is how she involves her family in her research with trips and a stay at a lighthouse, even involving her mother. This is a wonderful bonding time for her family. I shared on Twitter. I shared on facebook. I follow your blog.
    I would really love to have a chance to read this book ! Cnnamongirl (at ) aol (dot) com

  17. I have not visited any of the Great Lakes lighthouses, but when I lived in Maine, we visited several there. I always thought it would be amazing to live in one.
    I have read “Out of the Storm” via my Kindle. It was wonderful. Jody is a very gifted author.
    KellysShining(at)gmail(dot)com

  18. I am an email subscriber and follower of your blog

    KellysShining(at)gmail(dot)com

  19. I shared your giveaway via Twitter: https://twitter.com/kellyblackwell/status/543636775470895105

    KellysShining(at)gmail(dot)com

  20. sonja1971 says:

    Love historical fiction! The cover is just beautiful. I am a subscriber and follower. This book sounds so good. Thanks for the review and giveaway! sonja dot nishimoto at gmail dot com

  21. Merry says:

    Love Unexpected sounds touching and romantic. The lighthouse setting on the Great Lakes is so interesting. I love Jody’s books, so I look forward to reading it.
    I’m a follower.
    I pinned the giveaway :http://www.pinterest.com/pin/278238083204994344/
    worthy2bpraised at gmail dot com

  22. I’ve never visited the Great Lakes Lighthouses–any lighthouse for that matter–but I’ve always wanted to. Thanks for the chance to win a copy! I am an email subscriber. 🙂

  23. susanlulu2013 says:

    I’d love to win. I’ve been to all the lighthouses in NC.
    susanlulu(at)yahoo(dot)com

  24. I have not been to any of The Great Lakes lighthouses but I have been to the top of 2 in FL. & 1 in CA.
    Stimmer(at)familylife(dot)com

  25. martyomenko says:

    I used to live on Lake Superior, but didn’t have the funds at the time to go near to some of the lighthouses! I loved looking at them! martha(at)lclink(dot)com

  26. I have never been to any of the Lighthouses up North but would love to! I too am a fan of Jody’s books and enjoyed your Review. Also, shared link on FB.

    prayerladyd@verizon.net

  27. Angie Carroll says:

    No, I have not visited any of the lighthouses!a_stonecipheratyahoodotcom

  28. KayM says:

    I have visited the Grand Traverse Lighthouse. I’d love to visit others. Thanks for the opportunity to win Jody’s book. I follow with a different email address and also on my reader.
    may_dayzee (AT) yahoo (DOT) com

  29. I haven’t visited that part of the country but it’s on our bucket list! My husband is a teacher so each summer we take a road trip to a different part of the US with our daughters.

    colorvibrant at gmail dot com

  30. I have not headed west to visit any lighthouses. I have seen one in Maryland and one in Florida though.

  31. Kristin H. says:

    I haven’t visited any of the light houses. Sounds neat!

    kleehar[at]gmail[dot]com

  32. Pat Walker Pinkston says:

    Enjoyed the review.The book sounds really good and I would love to win it. I have never visited a Lighthouse, although I saw one in Virginia when my husband was stationed there.

  33. Pat Walker Pinkston says:

    I follow you by email subscription.

  34. Pat Walker Pinkston says:

    Shared the giveaway on Twitter.

  35. Thanx for the giveaway. Being from Michigan, I always enjoyed seeing the lighthouses on the Great Lakes. Merry Christmas! j 4 hibdon (AT) yahoo (DOT) com

  36. I’ve never been to Michigan or the Great Lakes, but ever since I read the Boxcar Children book, “The Lighthouse Mystery” in elementary school, I thought it’d be a neat experience to live in a lighthouse (I think it’s the spiraling staircase that appeals to me). Thanks for the chance to win –I love Jody Hedlund’s books!

    jafuchi7[at]hawaii[dot]edu

  37. Sam Brown says:

    The only lighthouse I’ve visited was on Kauai, but I love them and hope to visit more in the future! Please enter me in your giveaway, thank! jaredandsam-AT-gmail-DOT-com

Leave a Reply

