Review: Slave Again by Alana Terry

23202955 Slave Again is about the horrific reality of the sex trade industry in China. This is a tough, gritty subject and the author handles it well. There are many things in this book that are hard to read about and some twists that will surprise the reader. It is definitely an edge-of-your-seat read!

Alana Terry is good at portraying the depravity that humanity is capable of, while still staying within the bounds of Christian fiction. Even those who are “good” in this book have their weaknesses. Be aware that this book does have some violent situations in it and be prepared to shed tears.

Slave Again definitely stands alone, however, I believe that my reading of it was enhanced by the fact that I had read The Beloved Daughter last year. Mee-Kyong was not a character I liked in The Beloved Daughter and as I began this book, I still did not approve of her actions. But there is some amazing character growth in this story, which was refreshing.
(4 stars)

My thanks to the author for providing a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

23202955

After escaping a North Korean prison camp, Mee-Kyong is hustled over the border and sold into the Chinese underworld. She vows to survive, but sheer determination and willpower won’t save her this time. Is she fated to remain a slave forever?

Slave Again is a Christian suspense novel from award-winning author Alana Terry, whose debut novel, The Beloved Daughter, won awards from Women of Faith, Grace Awards, The Book Club Network, and Readers’ Favorite.

* This book has some Christian characters and themes but was written with a broad audience in mind.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

AlanaTerry

Alana is passionate about human-rights issues in North Korea and has devoted her writing to raise both awareness and funds to help North Korean refugees find freedom and safety. You can find out more about Liberty in North Korea and Alana’s rescue campaign at alanaterry.com/link.

(Contains brief violent image.)

:

http://www.amazon.com/Slave-Again-Alana-Terry-ebook/dp/B00N95UOL8/

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Slave Again by Alana Terry

  1. I agree on all points. It takes a very talented author to talk about such violent and gruesome topics, yet still keep it clean and within the realm of Christian fiction. Great review!

Leave a Reply

