Review: The Amish Bride of Ice Mountain by Kelly Long

20702330

I am going to start my review off with a quick disclaimer. The Amish Bride of Ice Mountain pushes the boundaries of Christian fiction and could be described as “edgy” in the way the author approaches intimacy in the book. Certain details in this book may make some readers uncomfortable and I would not recommend this book for a teenage audience.

The author provides her own disclaimer about the story on Amazon so that her readers can make up their own minds about whether to choose to read this book.

Here is her disclaimer:

Dear Reader,
I wanted to let you know that The Amish of Ice Mountain Series, although inspirational, is still a bit more PG in nature than my previous books. I chose to write the story that God laid on my heart, and this involved really exploring the relationships formed between married characters–and sexual tension is part of this exploration. I dedicated this book to my father, daughter, and my father’s cancer doctor, who fought so valiantly to keep my dad in this world. This story brings me more joy than any I’ve written, and I’m glad that my father can read it from Heaven. So, here’s to you–The Discerning Reader–may you continue to enjoy great Amish fiction and thank you should you chose to read…
Kelly M. Long

All of that being stated…I have really enjoyed every book by Kelly Long that I have ever read and decided to read The Amish Bride of Ice Mountain even after reading the above disclaimer. I am very glad that I did. Yes, there is quite a bit more description of intimate thoughts and actions in this book. That is definitely true. However, I really enjoyed this story.

I loved the innocence of Mary and the worldliness of Jude. The way they were forced into the marriage and the way both of them handled the situation was special, too. And even though Jude was a very worldly man and was not a believer for a good portion of the book, he truly cared about Mary. The tender way he treated her, even when he was still adamant about annulling the marriage in the future gave us a glimpse into his heart.

It was interesting to watch as Mary was introduced to Jude’s world. She continued to try to be a good wife to Jude and hoped to make the wedding into a true marriage. I liked her take on the world. She had a way of seeing into the heart of the other characters. I enjoyed this story and look forward to reading the sequel. (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, but I also purchased my own copy.

I wanted to see what a few of my blogging friends thought of this book, as well. Here is another review from Rel at Relz Reviewz. I really liked her take on the story and agree with her review. To read her review, click here.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

20702330

Like most Mountain Amish girls, Mary King has always dreamed of her wedding day. But she never imagined that a sudden, irresistible kiss would result in marriage to the handsome Englischer professor studying her unique community. Or that doing the truly honorable thing means keeping their relationship chaste so both she and Dr. Jude Lyons can someday go their separate ways.

But when Mary accompanies her husband-in-name-only to Atlanta to meet his wealthy, overbearing family, she’s tempted more than ever by Jude’s kindness, humor–and vulnerability. And when a wrenching misunderstanding causes her to return heartbroken to her remote Appalachian home, she’s certain she’s lost the real love they have found…and the shared future she’s come to want so much. But a crisis of more than faith will work surprising miracles–and show Mary that love is strong enough to make the impossible come true.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR:

Kelly-Long-768x1024

You can connect with Kelly on her author page on Facebook.

http://www.amazon.com/Amish-Bride-Ice-Mountain-ebook/dp/B00JVW6HMS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1418588484&sr=8-1&keywords=amish+bride+of+ice+mountain

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: The Amish Bride of Ice Mountain by Kelly Long

  1. Carole says:

    Brittany, as I’ve said before, you know how to write a quality review. The publicist sent me a copy of this book and it’s somewhere on my Kindle at the moment. Everything doesn’t have to be teenage-level inclusive and I suspect I will find Kelly’s writing very moving. I also thought Rel’s comments were right on target. Can’t wait to compare my thoughts to yours, Brittany!

Leave a Reply

