Review: Swept Away by Laura V. Hilton and Cindy Loven

18217543 Swept Away was a fun romance, while still dealing with some difficult issues. I liked Sara Jane Morgan, although at first she was pretty judgmental about the outward appearance of Drew Stevenson. However, I did enjoy the growth of her character throughout the book. She had a lot on her plate, dealing with a grandmother who was starting to show signs of Alzheimer’s. I thought she dealt with the situations involving her grandmother in a loving way. Her character had some pretty big issues from childhood and a definite grudge against God, who she wasn’t even sure she believed existed.

Drew was a great character. I did think it was fabulous that he began the story as a man with a very overgrown, bearded appearance. It gave Sara Jane, her grandmother, and the reader a chance to get to know him for the person he is inside. Drew also has issues from the past. Although he had a great witness and testimony, he still had family issues to work through in the book and it was fun seeing him restore relationships that had fallen apart. I was very impressed with the way he treated Sari (the grandmother).

I really thought the tension between Sara Jane and Drew was good. There was quite a bit of one step forward, many steps back, which helped build the anticipation of these two finally getting together. The ending resolved a little quickly for me and I would have liked it to have had another chapter. But, I did enjoy this book. (4 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

18217543

Sara doesn’t think she wants love. But her grandmother has other plans.

Sara Jane Morgan is trying to balance teaching with caring for her ailing, stubborn grandmother. When school lets out for the summer, the plans are for Grandma to teach Sara Jane to quilt as they finish up the Appalachian Ballad quilt Grandma started as a teenager. But things don’t always go as planned.

Andrew Stevenson is hiding from his past—and his future. He works as a handyman to pay the bills, but his heart is as an artisan, designing homemade brooms. When Sara Jane’s grandmother hires him to renovate her home, sparks fly between Drew and his new employer’s granddaughter.

Still, it doesn’t take Sara Jane long to see Drew isn’t what he seems. Questions arise, and she starts researching him online. What she discovers could change her life—and her heart—forever.

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHORS:

You can connect with Laura V. Hilton on Facebook, her blog, and her book review site.

You can connect with Cindy Loven on her blog and Facebook.

http://www.amazon.com/Swept-Away-Laura-V-Hilton-ebook/dp/B00KIW0M3A/ref=sr_1_1_twi_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1418839631&sr=8-1&keywords=swept+away+quilts+of+love

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

