Review: Second Chance Cinderella by Carla Capshaw

Cinderella This was such a good book! It is filled with misunderstandings that kept two people apart. I really liked the two main characters, Rose and Sam. They were young and in love, then ended up separated. Nine years later, Sam is a wealthy man. But he carries around a lot of hurt and resentment towards his lost love. Meanwhile, Rose has been struggling to make ends meet for herself and young son. When these two cross paths again, it is hard for both of them to rein in their emotions.

This book was a real page turner for me. The emotions that Rose and Sam experience felt very real. Rose trusts in the Lord, who has been her sustainer through the tough times. Sam is bitter about the idea of God. There is a lot of distrust on both sides for awhile and that adds great tension. I loved the scene when Sam realized that he was a father. Just wonderful! This was a very enjoyable story. (5 stars)

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Cinderella

“I’ll Wait for You Forever.”

Heartbroken when her childhood love never returned, Rose Smith soon learned she had even greater worries – she carried his child. Ten years later as a housemaid in London, she encounters Samuel Blackstone. The kind youth she adored has turned bitter with success. Feeling out of place in Sam’s high-society world, Rose fears what he may do when he learns of their son….

A wealthy stockbroker, Sam is used to getting what he wants. And when he learns that Rose bore him a son, he wants to claim his family. But he’ll have to convince Rose to trust him again if he’s to have any hope of meeting the boy… or recapturing her heart.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

A Florida native, I’m a preacher’s kid who grew up in church. My first memory is of giving my heart to Christ at the age of four. When I was ten, I watched a biography about Marco Polo for my fifth grade history class and decided then I wanted to accomplish two things in life: travel and write books.

Following the Lord’s leading, I earned a Bachelors degree in International Studies from the University of South Florida, and a Master of Theology from International Theological Seminary. Over the years, I’ve been blessed to visit forty-eight states and twenty-seven countries, including a year spent teaching English in the People’s Republic of China.

Building on those experiences, I began writing in the fall of 2000. I love passionate stories with compelling, nearly impossible conflicts and have found Inspirational Historical Romance is the perfect vehicle to combine lush settings, vivid characters, and a Christian worldview.

A 2004 and 2007 Golden Heart winner, I’ve been privileged to win numerous writing contests sponsored by Romance Writers of America chapters around the U.S. and Canada. In 2010, my first novel, The Gladiator, received a double nomination for RWA’s prestigious Rita award.

Currently, I still live in Florida, but I’m always planning my next trip…and plotting my next story.

You can connect with the author on her website, Goodreads, Facebook, and Twitter.

http://www.amazon.com/Second-Chance-Cinderella-Inspired-Historical-ebook/dp/B00I66BSME/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1419458992&sr=1-1&keywords=second+chance+cinderella

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Second Chance Cinderella by Carla Capshaw

  1. Pingback: Giveaway – Second Chance Cinderella by Carla Capshaw | Britt Reads Fiction

Leave a Reply

