Review: Take Me Back To Texas by Amy Lillard

Take Me Back to Texas Take Me Back To Texas is a fun, contemporary, inspirational romance which is set in a small town where everyone knows each other’s business! I had a great time reading this sweet story!

I really liked Elizabeth’s character. She thinks she is doing fine in life and that she is past the hurt that came from a huge betrayal years ago by the young man she loved. She appears emotionally strong when the book starts out, but as things progress the reader learns that although she is a strong woman, there are holes in her life that begin to bother her. I appreciated that Elizabeth (known as Bethie Grace in this small town) realized fairly early on that she still loved JD, even though he broke her heart. And I thought she seemed to be a very fair person in the way she dealt with him and his daughter. It was also refreshing to see her recognize that she had left God out of much of her life once she left the small town of Loveless, and that she was really missing that connection.

JD knows he messed up years ago. He lost the love of his life, but now has a daughter to think of. JD was a very complicated character. Oh, I really liked him and hoped for the best, but he seriously frustrated me at times in the story! He had a path set out for himself and his daughter and was unwilling to trust that he could allow another woman into their lives, even one he loved. That also showed a lack of trust in God. JD was trying to control everything and hope to atone for his past actions. He was slow to realize the right path to take!

The supporting characters in Take Me Back to Texas were great, too. I loved Candy and Ginger and I am really looking forward to reading Ginger’s story, which will be the next book in the series. If you are looking for an enjoyable, contemporary story, Take Me Back To Texas is a great choice! (5 stars)

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Take Me Back to Texas

Elizabeth McGee never thought she’d set foot in Loveless, Texas, again. But after the reading of her father’s will, Elizabeth learns she’s inherited her grandmother’s house and all of the personal contents. If that wasn’t enough to knock her off her feet, she soon discovers that JD Carmichael, her lost love from high school, is the contractor who has been hired to finish renovating the house.

JD once had the world by the tail. But after a premature end to what would have been a promising career in professional football, JD wants nothing more than to raise his daughter and enjoy the life he has now. And he surely never thought he’d ever see Bethie Grace again.

Now he’s faced with her everyday as they work side by side restoring and cleaning the old house in order to ready it to sell. But the rambling old Victorian isn’t the only thing rattling with memories. Elizabeth finds that she can’t concentrate with JD around. And JD has trouble forgetting the heady effects of her kiss, even if it’s been fifteen years since he last held her in his arms.

Past hurts and betrayals stand in their way. That and JD’s vow never to get married again. But as much as he tries to keep the two halves of his life separate, he finds himself breaking all his rules for Bethie Grace McGee.

Elizabeth has plans for her future. She’s waiting for a loan to buy her very own French bistro on the edge of Hollywood. But JD’s kiss makes her second guess her decisions and think about staying in Texas. Forever.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

AmyLillard

I’m a wife, mother, and bona fide Southern belle. Published author, expert corn bread maker, and Squirrel Princess.

I live in Tulsa, though I was born in Mississippi. I moved to the Sooner State when I was seventeen and met my soul mate and best friend not long after. I’ve retained a little of my Mississippi accent though most people think I’m from Texas. (?) Rob and I have been married for over twenty years and have a son-a mom proclaimed prodigy, of course!

I love homemade tacos, shoes, and romance novels-not necessarily in that order. I’m a big fan of country music, a staunch proponent of saving the Oxford comma, and I’m shamefully obsessed with all things Harry Potter.

I believe that God is love. I guess that’s why I adore romances.

You can connect with Amy on her website, Facebook, Pinterest, and Twitter.

http://www.amazon.com/Take-Back-Texas-Loveless-Book-ebook/dp/B00OQBADR4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1420839895&sr=8-1&keywords=take+me+back+to+texas

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

