Review: Trading Secrets by Melody Carlson

Trading Secrets I really enjoyed this young adult novel. There is a nice mixture of Amish and “English” culture discussed in the book and the straightforward, first-person perspective that is used helped me feel as if I was really in the mind of the teenage girl, Micah. I know that first-person dialogue is a fairly popular way of writing young adult novels.

I enjoyed watching Micah try to fit in with Zach’s Amish family. It was refreshing to hear about what she liked and disliked. And Micah was not treated the same way by everyone in the family. Some were unhappy to have her visit, and others were very welcoming. It felt authentic to me.

I think that Micah presents a good role model for girls reading this story. She became frustrated at the way she was being treated by some of the Amish community, however, she controlled her temper and did not say anything unkind or sarcastic toward those who gave her grief.

The storyline is interesting and the author does a good job of portraying Micah and Zach as the older teenagers that they are. They don’t always make the right decisions, but they are trying to do so and they are attempting to find out where they both belong in the world. This was a very enjoyable story. And on another note…my fourteen year old daughter borrowed this book from me before I even had a chance to read it and she absolutely loved it!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell, through The Book Club Network, in exchange for an honest review. (4 stars)

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Trading Secrets

Back in fifth grade, Micah Knight got an Amish pen pal, and over the years, they’ve exchanged many letters–and many secrets. At age seventeen, Micah finally has the chance to meet her pen pal face-to-face. The only problem is that because of confusion about her name when the pen pals were assigned, her pen pal was a boy, Zack Miller. And all this time, Micah’s never told Zack that she’s actually a girl! While she wants nothing more than to experience life on Zack’s Amish farm, she’s afraid he’ll hate her for deceiving him all these years. But she makes up her mind to face the music–and that’s where the fun really begins.
Bestselling author Melody Carlson brings young adults another fascinating tale of worlds colliding, secrets being revealed, and friendships forming. Teens will love this story of miscommunication and mishaps along the way to the truth.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Melody Carlson

My husband Chris and I live in a cabin-style home next to the National Forest in the beautiful Cascade Mountain area of the Pacific Northwest. Our two grown sons and granddaughter live nearby and we try to see them as often as we can. We also have two re-homed pets to make life more interesting, our yellow Labrador retriever Audrey and a Maine coon cat named Harry.

My writing studio is in a separate building next to our courtyard (a garden area that’s off limits to the voracious deer). The window behind my desk looks out into the ponderosa pine forest, where I see deer, squirrels, rabbits, and an occasional raccoon. The other windows in my office overlook the courtyard which is frequented by numerous hummingbirds in the summertime. One August evening we counted nearly fifty of the little hummers.

You can connect with Melody on her website and Facebook.

http://www.amazon.com/Trading-Secrets-Novel-Melody-Carlson-ebook/dp/B00KDN87CW/ref=sr_1_1_twi_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1422135785&sr=1-1&keywords=trading+secrets

About Brittany

I am a homeschooling mother of four children. I am an avid reader and have been for as long as I can remember. I truly enjoy reading and reviewing books I focus my reading and my reviews on Christian fiction, primarily Christian romantic fiction. I hope you will find my reviews helpful in your decisions on what books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

